Blog Tour: “Willing Captive” by Belle Aurora – My Review, Excerpt & Giveaway!

WC Banner

Genre: New Adult

Release Date: September 26, 2013

Hosted by: Love Between the Sheets

Hello, my lovelies!

It is FINALLY my turn on this sassy lady’s blog tour! Yay! I have been dying to share my review with you all since I read the book a couple of weeks ago. One of my absolute favourite books now.

Read on to get to my review and the GIVEAWAY Belle has decided to throw during the tour.

WCCover

Blurb:

Delilah “Lily” Flynn is used to her drab existence. Lily’s been living it for twenty two years. 
Her boring life is suddenly turned on its head when she’s rudely kidnapped from her bedroom.
Or so she thinks.

Nox Taylor is far too high up in his field to be assigned a babysitting job. 
There’s nothing more he wants than to complete his mission so he can be rid of the smartass tomboy, Lily.

Day after day, Nox watches Lily and her strange ways. She’s unlike any woman he’s ever met. 
Getting close to the girl is purely for her own protection…right?

Lily never imagined she’d make her first real friends in captivity. 
What lengths would she go through to keep them?

(Author note: This is NOT a dark romance.)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Belle Aurora is twentysix years old and was born in the land down under.
At an early age she fell in love with reading. Boredom one summer had her scouring the bookshelves at home. She stumbled across Sandra Brown’s Breath of Scandal and fell in love with romance.
Having been brought up in a loud and boisterous family of Croatian descent, she developed a natural love for dramatics and humor. Only some years ago had she discovered a new love.

Humorous romance novels.

Kristen Ashley and R.L. Mathewson had opened a brand new world where she could lose herself yet feel safe and at home in their stories.

Belle has been known to become a screeching banshee while anxiously awaiting their newest titles. 
Belle never thought she would write. It had never interested her until recently. Friend-Zoned began to form and in February this year Belle typed the words Chapter One.

And she fell in love.

With words.

With writing.

With a creative imagination she never knew she harbored.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Facebook

Goodreads

BUY LINKS

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Smashwords

My Review

ARC received by the author in exchange for an honest review

Although I usually read romance novels that are more intense and dark in nature, I love a romance novel filled with fun moments as well. In my opinion, it is only a handful of authors who truly know how to balance their romance with humour – it can very easily become too much – and Belle Aurora excels at this every single time! “Willing Captive” is, without a doubt, my favourite book of hers. It has it all: drama, intensity, heartbreak…well, everything I love in a book, anyway. But I am getting ahead of myself here.

The story follows Delilah (Lily) Flynn, a very sheltered young woman, who longs for the kind of adventure and romance she usually only reads about in books – she feels bored out of her mind with her job at her father’s company, “Flynn Logistics”, but she has yet to find the courage to “leave the nest”, so to speak. Lily spends her nights in her room, reading smutty (*wink*)) books because her dad does not allow her to go out. Although she feels uncomfortable in her extravagant home, she loves her room:

“In this room, I can be who I want to be. No pressure. No expectations. I can do as I please. And I like it like that.”

Needless to say, this IS a boring way of life so it is no wonder she longs to spread her wings, and Lily’s sister, Terah, is desperate for her to rebel a bit as well.

Now, even though Lily craves freedom and excitement in her life, she does not exactly like it when all hell breaks loose one night: she finds herself kidnapped – or so she thinks – and is thrown into the hands of an extremely annoying commando called Nox. It turns out that Lily’s father has hired Nox and his “band of brothers” to protect the entire family until Nox finds out who it is that is out to get them, and especially Lily seems to be the target.

Nox is extremely bad-ass and not exactly forthcoming when it comes to giving Lily information and naturally, that causes them to butt heads a lot – actually, they downright dislike each other vehemently – but, eventually, over time, love blossoms between them.

I absolutely ADORE Lily: she is quirky, strong and passionate. Her inner monologues are hilarious, and she can be funny one moment and serious the next. I did not find her annoying or frustrating at any point while reading – I was actually very sad when the book ended – and I love how her feelings for Nox develop: not simply from one day to the next, but slowly, over several weeks, giving the reader plenty of time to get to know both of them.

Now, Nox…well, he can be a complete arsehole, but also incredibly sweet. When we first meet him, he shows only his badass side, and he is none too happy about being, in his mind, a babysitter to Lily. He gets frustrated, to put it mildly, with her and her questions and comes close to breaking point many times:

“He leans closer to me and whispers: “Don’t push me, little girl. You don’t wanna see my bad side.” I blink a second before my eyes widen and I lean back from him as I whisper hiss, “THIS is your good side?”

After a misunderstanding that only makes Lily’s situation worse, emotionally, Lily and Nox start to communicate better and begin to get to know each other.  Trusting the other proves to be difficult at first, but they begin to see each other in a different light eventually.

“You are not going to die.” I reply breathily, “What makes you so sure?”

His lip tilts at the corner as he says, “There’s a reason I’m cocky, princess.” Then he smiles. Not a smirk or a grin. A gleaming teeth, megawatt smile.

And it’s nice.Slightly crooked, it softens his normally hard face. I could get used to this Nox.”

If you like hot, alpha, commando heroes, Nox will satisfy you to no end. But as I wrote earlier, he can also be incredibly sweet:

“You remember what you said this morning? About it being totally stupid to fall in love with me?”

At that, my eyes open. He adds quietly, “Then you should start calling me a fuckin’ moron.”

I mean, seriously: SWOON!

I do not want to say too much more about what happens next – you will laugh, cry, swoon, bite your nails, and tear your hair out while reading this book. Also, readers who, like me, really love books with alternate POV’s will get their wish fulfilled: the voice of Nox is truly amazing.

For me, the last 35% of the book is what makes this a 5 stars read, and obviously I will not go into further details. Let me just say that this is the point when Lily shows her true strength, where she is forced to really grow up.

As usual, Belle Aurora does not disappoint when it comes to writing the VERY sexy, intimate scenes between her characters, and Lily and Nox really complement each other. There is simply wonderful chemistry between them. You will want your significant other to be close by after having read some of these hot scenes – and let that be my final note of this review. 😉 Except for this: read the book! You will not regret it! 🙂

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

Want to read an excerpt of the book? Of course you do! 😉 Enjoy!

Walking over to the door, I close it, taking my time so as to not make a sound. Once it’s shut, I open the dresser drawers,
take out a pair of simple white underwear and a matching plain bra, remove the tags, then step into the panties.

As soon as I reach down to pull the panties up my legs, the door swings open. I see a scowling Nox, but when he sees the position I’m in, his scowl disappears
to be replaced with a slightly gaping mouth.

I’m mortified. But the look on his face tells me he’s possibly just as mortified. Maybe more. And I certainly got the results of my experiment.
Forcing down my flush to no avail, I clear my throat and check my watch. Nodding with pursed lips, I say clinically, “Forty seconds, give or take. Not bad, Nox.”

And now for the GIVEAWAY!

Belle is offering up 5 eBooks, 2 mugs, 10 signed rack cards/magnets! And it is open internationally!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

GOOD LUCK!

LBSPromo badge

Leave a Reply

