“Tattered Love” (Needle’s Kiss #1) by Lola Stark

Tattered Love

Blurb:

When ex-Special Ops bad-ass Mace walks into Needle’s Kiss tattoo parlour, he never expected to find the girl who would turn his life upside down.

Hard as nails Scarlett has been unlucky in love: she’s been burnt, chewed up and spat out. Reluctant to have another relationship, can she keep her wits about her when hot-as-sin Mace walks into her tattoo parlor? Or will he break her down and leave his mark within her ink?

What starts out as a little fun, turns into something so much more.

Can Scarlett look beyond Mace’s devastating past or will his demons come back to haunt them both?

Content warning: contains steamy, anywhere-goes sex, an alcohol induced embarrassing night out and two headstrong lovers taken on a whirlwind of crazy

My Review

It seems that I am on a roll these days, meaning that I keep reading great books from authors down under! 😉 “Tattered Love” is, without a doubt, a scorching hot, funny, sweet page turner and I defy anyone who thinks differently. (Just kidding, we are all different…)

Meet Scarlett, our sassy, sexy, sweet-talking (not ;-)) heroine: this is a woman alone – but not lonely – who is determined in succeeding and who has found her place in the world with her very own tattoo parlour, “Needle’s Kiss”.  This place is her home away from home and she is damn proud of it (as she should be).

“It was good to be here. It was my haven. My happy place. It was home.”

Even though you cannot see it on the outside, Scarlett have, well, scars. She suffers from her past which have made her very tough and completely closed off when it comes to relationships. She is very upfront about this, however, and she enjoys her life of “love ‘em & leave ‘em”. Deep down she longs for a man who will love her unconditionally, tattoos included, but she is scared of opening up her heart to someone new. As she likes to say:

“Keep your head, heels and standards high.”

Enter Mace, the brother of Scarlett’s employee, Tripp…Sigh…I mean, any woman will start drooling when Mace is introduced:

“His broad, muscular frame, that looked as solid and toned as a brick wall, filled the room. Beautiful aqua-blue eyes, in stark contrast to his slightly olive skin, gave a hint at what had to be a Hispanic background.”

Well, Scarlett is close to drooling when they meet for the first time. She is not one to back down for some harmless flirting and some hot-as-sin sex but she does not count on Mace having a different type of relationship in mind: he actually wants to date her, and she feels somewhat apprehensive about that.

It takes some time but finally, Mace breaks down the walls around her heart and Scarlett starts envisioning a future with him. But then, as is the order of things, Mace has to make some rather dumbass mistake, meaning: he tries to do the right thing in his mind which is completely wrong, of course.

What can I tell you about Mace? He is completely alpha, but very sweet and just as vulnerable emotionally like Scarlett. He, too, suffers from a very painful past, and I almost cried when reading about his pain. It felt so real and I wanted to reach down and give him a hug – if he were not a fictional character, that is. 😉 Honestly, the author conveyed his tragic past and subsequent heartache perfectly.

“The last few years had been a series of hard lessons learned. I was nearing thirty years old. Just three years earlier, I’d had darn near everything a man could have wanted. Unfortunately, I had soon realized, good and well, that nothing was ever guaranteed, everything you held close could be taken in one soul-crushing swoop, leaving you destroyed and feeling hopeless.”

I have highlighted so many scenes of the book that it is scary…I could go on and on, give you quote after quote, but I do not want to give too much away. There are plenty of fun moments in the book as well, and I cannot resist giving you this:

“What the hell is wrong with that man? I felt my eyebrows draw together as I unwrapped the paper. He’d lost his shit. It was official. Mace was crazy. Trip was now rolling around on the ground holding his stomach. Remy had tears rolling down his face, and there I sat, holding a peanut butter and jelly sandwich cut into the shape of a love heart.”

And that is it, ladies, no more for you! Suffice it to say, I do not believe you will be disappointed while reading this book. I have to say this, however: although I love the book, there are a couple of things that fail to make it a 5 stars read for me. Without giving you any spoilers, I will just say that I felt that there were a couple of scenes that were not elaborated upon, where – in my opinion – the author should have done so in order for it to be a perfect story for me. Remember: this is MY review, MY viewpoints only! You may feel completely different than me.

Now, I hope I have made you curious enough to pick up a copy of this book, because I sincerely recommend that you do! Not only are the main characters portrayed very well, we get to know the secondary characters without them becoming the focus of the book. I especially liked the way the author describes Scarlett’s relationship with her best friend, Teeny:

“You would never guess from the way we talk to each other just what she meant to me. Teeny had always been there – at my worst, at my best. She was always in the wings, silently watching my back. She knew I could take care of myself.”

Last, but not least: I would classify this book as more than romance, for me it is erotica. And I believe you will agree with me when you have read a couple of the sex scenes: O…M…G! Mace likes to talk dirty…That is all I will say on that matter. 😉

I cannot wait for book two, “Conflicted Love”, to come out! Miss Stark, please hear my prayer: make it soon! I want to get to know Teeny and Trip better. 🙂

How to connect with Lola Stark

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

BUY LINKS

Amazon US

Amazon UK

One thought on ““Tattered Love” (Needle’s Kiss #1) by Lola Stark

  1. Pingback: Tattered Love: Needle’s Kiss #1 by Lola Stark Review | iequalsalissa

Leave a Reply

