Blog Tour: “Untangle Me” by Chelle Bliss – My Review, Author Interview & Giveaway

UntangleMeBlogTour

Title: Untangle Me
Author: Chelle Bliss

Release Date: 10.1.13
New Author/Debut Release

Hey, everyone!

Now it is my turn on the blog tour and I am so excited to be not only showing you my review but my VERY first author interview as well! I had a really great time doing it and despite it being my first, I think I handled it rather well.

Read on for my review – there is also a giveaway at the end of my post.

Happy reading! 🙂

Untangle Me Cover Small

Blurb:

Kayden is a bad boy that never played by the rules. Sophia has always been the quintessential good girl, living a life filled with disappointment. Everything changes when their lives become intertwined through a chance encounter online.

Hundreds of miles separate them, but the connection that draws them together is too much to be denied. As the layers of their lives peel back, Kayden keeps the dangerous parts of his past hidden to protect the woman who is becoming more important to him than he should allow. What starts as a pursuit of carnal pleasure turns into a complicated love story. His past is a tangled web filled with addiction, an obsessed ex-girlfriend, and problems with the law.

One mistake he thought he had left behind may end up ruining it all.

untangle me teaser 9

My Review

ARC received by the author in exchange for an honest review.

There is a reason why this book’s ranking in the Erotica genre on Amazon is so high, because let me start by telling you that it is SERIOUSLY hot! Phew! Readers who enjoy reading erotica will definitely not be disappointed. 😉

The book tells the story about Sophia and Kayden who meet online, and they are both in their mid-thirties. Sophia is in a relationship but is, in fact, quite bored with the guy and prefers staying at home with her ereader, getting lost in romance novels, instead of being with him. She longs for the kind of relationship she, so far, has only read about. She is shy, sweet, but strong.

Sophia and Kayden’s online exchanges and texting starts off innocently enough, but it does not take long before deeper feelings start developing between them. It does, however, take a long time before they meet because Sophia does not exactly trust Kayden and his sentiments about her:

“I still thought the man whore title fit him perfectly, but he was more complex. He’s passionate and romantic, but his heart’s been destroyed and I needed to know why.”

 Kayden is very up-front with Sophia in the beginning: because of past relationships that ended very badly, he does not date anymore. He only does the friends-with-benefits thing. But he cannot help but falling for Sophia eventually – he has issues, though which we get to hear about later in the book.

“I knew I was dangerous to Sophia, unlike any man she had been with, but I wanted her. I wanted to draw her in as deep as I could.”

Now, as always, I do not want to go into too many details about what happens in the story – this time, it is because I had some issues with it, and it is not fair to cloud your judgment. What does not work for me might work for you.

Let me start with the things I DID enjoy:

First of all, I liked the storyline about a couple in their mid-thirties meeting online after both having scarred pasts when it comes to relationships.This point felt very believable to me, and I found it very refreshing to read such a story as well. Also, the way both Sophia and Kayden struggle with his drinking problem really got to me and I feel that the author made this part of the story very honest.

Secondly, I enjoyed the pace of the book – I liked that it takes quite some time before Sophia and Kayden actually meet in person. If they had met after a few weeks, say, I would have been very sceptical and actually a bit disappointed. I am glad the author chose to do this instead of many others.

Thirdly, for the first half of the book, I really liked Kayden. He is portrayed as an honest, playful, alpha male who is not afraid to go after what he wants. And what he wants is Sophia. I liked that he does not rush her in any way when it comes to their sexual relationship, but he is not afraid to push her just the tiniest bit in order to make her loosen up and embrace her sexuality. All women need such a man in their life, in my opinion.

Lastly, but not least, the sexual tension between this couple and their extreme chemistry is off the charts HOT! As I stated earlier in my review, I do not think that you will be disappointed if you enjoy reading erotica. 😉 Take this scene, for example:

“I looked through the car windows on all sides and didn’t see anyone. He rammed his cock inside of me and all thought vanished. I no longer worried about the people on the street. We didn’t make love – we had feverish sex in the backseat of my car. The only sound was our skin slapping against each other, our lips and tongues moving together, and our breath fast and harsh.”

Need I say more? 😉

I know this review has been a whole lot about the male character – sorry about that. I very much liked Sophia: she goes from being incredibly shy and rather insecure to this out-going and sexy woman who does everything in her power to support her man in every possible way. Her whole character spoke to me and I found her incredibly real. I think the author did a great job when it comes to making Sophia come alive for me. Well done!

Now, next to the few things that did not work for me:

I felt that Kayden made a complete shift personality-wise that I did not understand completely. I mean, he went from this very apha male to a very insecure one, and I do not think that was so realistic when it comes down to it. Also, I did not find his handling his crazy ex-girlfriend to be that believable – I mean, being the way he is, I would think he would have talked to the probation officer sooner. But I cannot relate to this part of his life – because it is so far from my world – so maybe his hesitation is understandable to other readers. I have taken that into consideration which is the cause of the high ranking of my review.

Overall, I enjoyed getting to know Sophia and Kayden. I liked that this is not a typical fairytale but that they have to overcome a lot of obstacles in order to find their happiness. That is how it is in real life, is it not? As I mentioned earlier, I also find it very refreshing that the story deals with a couple that is more mature than most of the couples I read about in books.

My final note: Miss Bliss, this is a really great debut and I am so looking forward to reading your next book! 🙂

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

And now for my interview!

Q: For the readers who have yet to read the book and who do not know you: can you tell them a little about yourself?

 A: I have been a teacher for over ten years. Im just a normal person with a day job and wrote Untangle Me because I felt that I had a story to tell. I want to bring happiness to my readers and leave them satisfied at the end of the journey.

Im pretty boring. I love to talk with people who love to read on Facebook, I am hooked on couponing, and sleep way too little for any human beings.

Q: Where did the inspiration for “Untangle Me” come from? When did the idea of the story come to you?

 A: I pulled some bits from the lives of friends and people I know, but it really just evolved in my mind over time. I thought it was a storyline that wasnt explored and needed to be. I like to write about real life people, someone we can all relate to.

Q: How long did it take you to write the book?

A: I started writing the book in May and finally hit publish at the end of September.  It went through a couple revisions and developed over time. I started writing the main storyline on my phone and slowly filled in the details and added to the storyline as I wrote. It was a process and I learned so much by writing Untangle Me.

Q: Is Sophia a lot like you? Or do you have another person from real life in mind?

A: Sophia is a lot like me. I wont go into which parts, but I definitely have the nerdy girl down pat.

Q: This may seem like an odd question, but…Is there any of Kayden’s characteristics in you? Or is he entirely fictional?

A: Nothing in Kaydens character is me.

Q: Did you know how the story would end from the beginning? Or did the book almost take on a life of its own?

A:  I didnt know how the story would end when I started. It changed over time. I almost had it be a cliffhanger, but I thought that would be cruel. I added the Epilogue only days before publishing.

Q: As an adult, have you always read romance/erotica?

 A: I havent always been an avid erotica reader, but started years ago. Im always looking for something different. The stories sometimes sound the same to me and my mind craves some new. Its a constant quest to find the next great book.

Q: Did certain scenes make you blush while writing them? 😉

A: No, the only thing or person in the world that can make blush is my boyfriend. 😉

Q: I like the fact that we get to see how much Kayden – and Sophia – struggle with his drinking problems – did you know from the beginning that that would be a part of his character?

 A: Yes, I think its a real world problem. Many people struggle with this issue or other addictions with loved ones. I wanted readers to be able to relate. When I read about extremely wealthy people, although I enjoy it, I cant relate to their lives and ability to spend freely.

Q: Do you have any rituals when you sit down to write? For instance, do you listen to music while writing?

 A: I usually write on my couch with Facebook open, I have the television on for noise, and have my coffee on hand. I write whenever I find time, before work, after work, anytime. When I first started writing I did it on my phone during my lunch break.

Q: Speaking of music, do you use it to get you in the right frame of mind while writing a certain scene?

 A: Sometimes I do, depends on the mood. If I’m having trouble getting into a scene then I turn to music for inspiration.

Q: I am very much looking forward to reading your next book which will be about Kayden’s past – can you give the readers a few pointers as to what his story is? (Without giving any spoilers, of course. :-))

 A: Kayden’s story will be a Novella and hopefully will be out before the end of the year. Kayden’s past is filled with women, booze, and drugs. It will be steamy, sexy, and filled with decisions that led him off course. It’s a wild path that led him to Sophia and made her his savior and love of his life. I am also working on another full length story about Suzy, Sophia’s room mate from book one. Kayden and Sophia will play a role in the story too and readers will hear about their life after Untangle Me.

 

Thank you so much for giving this interview, Chelle! 🙂

And now for the GIVEAWAY! The author is offering up an ebook copy of “Untangle Me”!

There will be 1 Winner per blog stop.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

GOOD LUCK!

Leave a Reply

