“Eraser” by Megan Keith

Eraser

Blurb:

A man with no name.

Mysterious.

Dangerous.

Brooding.

Sexy.

Once a week he frequents the bar where Mackenzie works.  He orders the same drink, scotch on the rocks, and he sits back on the same lounge chair, quietly watching… waiting…

He has money – that much is obvious.  He wears his tailored suits well.  He smells divine, of expensive cologne, and orders his scotch from the top shelf.

He drinks alone, but he never leaves that way.  With a snap of his fingers, a flick of his eyes, a glimmer of a smile, he gets the attention of the most attractive women in the bar.

This time his focus is on Mackenzie.  Instead of feeling nervous Mackenzie is enthralled, intrigued… and aroused.

NOTE:  Not for the weak, feint-hearted or for people with sticks up their ass (unless you like that sort of thing sexually that is).

MATURE 18+ READERS ONLY!  Contains explicit sex scenes and a BDSM type scenario.

My Review

ARC received by the author in exchange for an honest review

This review will not be as long as my others because this is a novella and I am afraid of revealing too much of the story.

I usually have a hard time with novellas, meaning finding them interesting because I always want to know more! I am seldom satisfied which is why I normally steer clear of them. Having said that, it is healthy to step out of one’s comfort zone sometimes and try something new or different. That is the reason I started reading “Eraser” – and I am SO glad I did!

As the blurb says, our heroine, Mackenzie, works at a very high-end establishment and every Friday, the same male customer comes in, orders the same VERY expensive Scothch and observes the female patrons. What fascinates Mackenzie so is the fact that he always leaves with a different woman on his arm, and she longs to be one of them.

When he this particular Friday singles hers out, she cannot help but notice how he seems to treat her differently: for one thing, he orders her 3 of the same very special and expensive Scotch, but what is more important is the way he looks at her and the way he speaks.

“There was something different about the way he was looking at her tonight. She didn’t believe he had ever taken so much notice of her at any time prior. It intrigued her. HE intrigued her. He always had.”

She is drawn to him and, against all common sense, agrees to go “home” with him even though he does not do repeats, as he calls it. Also, she is only allowed to call him “Sir”. Strange indeed…

What follows is an extremely erotic night filled with passion. And that is all I will say about what happens in the novella, you have to read it yourself. 😉

Now, I really did enjoy the story and I think it has been a very long time since I read a novella where I did not get disappointed about it. I like the set-up, the main protagonist, Mackenzie, and I REALLY like the mysterious elements – I do not think I have read a story before where I did not know the hero’s name.  Or maybe I should not call him a “hero”…This male is a dominant with a capital “D” and true, there were some parts of him that I did not approve of but that is just my personal opinion. I was almost shouting “YES” when I got to the ending and got to read Sir’s own thoughts and feelings – I love different POV’s in a book but more now than ever: after all, he IS such a mystery. So I am very happy with the fact that the author decided to give us that. J

“When she had slept he didn’t want to let her go. But she had needed some space and time, even if she didn’t know it.”

The reason I am not giving the book 5 stars, though, is the fact that I still want to know more…I know, I know, it IS a novella! But I just cannot help myself. 😉 Also, although we get Sir’s thoughts in the end, thus getting the chance to know him better, there are still a few points that I need clarified – I was left with one too many questions unanswered. But please bear in mind that this is my personal opinion.

Overall, I absolutely loved the novella and I am very glad that I took a chance and read it. The author has opened my eyes to the fact that although a story is short, it can be just as satisfying as a full-length novel. So thank you for that, Miss Keith!

How to connect with Megan Keith

Goodreads Author Profile

Blog

Facebook

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

BUYING LINKS

Amazon US
Amazon UK
      

Leave a Reply

