Blog Tour: “True Bliss” (Bliss #2) by B. J. Harvey – Synopsis, My Review & Excerpt

True Bliss Banner

Hello, ladies!

It has now become my turn on the blog tour for this really amazing book.

Enjoy!

True Bliss full jacket

Release Date:

25th November

Organised by The Book Avenue

Blurb:

She watched her best friend find her superhero.

Now she wants her turn.

Despite a run of bad dates with Mr. Wrong, Mr. Boring, Mr. Bad Breath, Mr. Grabby Hands, and even Mr. Say I Love You After One Date To Get Into Your Pants, Kate McGuinness is more determined than ever to find the one.

Having tried everything else, she turns to the internet in a last ditch attempt to find her elusive prince.

But Kate doesn’t want an everyday, run of the mill love.

She wants the kind of love that makes your heart skip a beat. The kind of love that makes you dance in the rain and bottle up the sunset. The once in a lifetime kind of love that authors write about, musicians sing about, and lovers dream about.

Could a certain police officer in training, who has come to her rescue in the past, be the one to swoop in and save her heart? 

What if the love Kate desperately seeks has been in front of her the whole time?

She just needs to open her eyes to see it… 

*Disclaimer: This book contains a hot as hell stripper with a penchant for public sex and exhibitionism who may or may not succeed in bringing out the inner firecracker in all of us. Oh, and don’t forget the batteries.*

ADD TO GOODREADS

My Review

ARC received by the author in exchange for an honest review

After just having read a rather dark romance, I wanted something lighter to read. I am happy to say that “True Bliss” was exactly what I needed. This is the second book in the Bliss Series with interconnected characters but can be read as a standalone novel. I would not recommend it, though, as I think you will miss out on too much if you do not read them in order.

Meet Kate: she is longing to find her Prince Charming. It has been drilled into her from when she was a child that she would meet her perfect man one day, but she is getting rather impatient waiting for him to show up even though she is only 24 years old.

“I don’t just want a good love, one of those everyday loves that you hear about. I want the kind of crazy love we’ve been warned about. The kind of love that makes your heart skip a beat. The kind of love that makes you want to dance in the rain and bottle up the sunset while screaming at the top of your lungs. The kind of love that authors write about, musicians sing about and lover’s dream about.” (Kate)

This is hardly an unreasonable request, which is why Kate decides to use an online dating service even though her friend, Mac, and her Superman (*wink*) Daniel does not approve. I like the fact that Kate is being smart about this venture: she does not simply meet the men as soon as they contact her; she tries to get to know them a bit better before jumping into a blind date. She has also come up with her “Three Dates Rule”, meaning no sex allowed until after the third date – very wise!

We get to experience a few of Kate’s “Disaster Dates”, as I like to call them, and they made me feel bad for her. You would think that in a city as big as Chicago, it should not be a problem finding your perfect match. Wrong! It takes a lot of hard work finding your Prince Charming.

Kate is a great character: she is feisty, charming and sweet. I really connected with her – maybe because of the online dating – and I loved getting to know her better. She has been burnt in the past but those experiences have not made her bitter, and I liked that she looks toward the future with an open mind.

Now, even though Kate is trying her luck with online dating, it is not as if she has not already met a guy who sets her body on fire: Zander, one of Mac’s former friends-with-benefits, has made her heart thump wildly once or twice. Sadly, though, he rejected her a few months before – and I would be just as mortified as Kate, mind you – when he had taken her home after she was almost molested by another guy. They shared a very passionate kiss and even though she desperately wanted him to sleep with her, he turned her down. Needless to say, she has avoided him ever since. But the fact that he turned her down is not her only reason for this: she has a really tough time considering him to be more than an acquaintance because of his history with Mac. There is, naturally, also his line of work to consider: he is a male stripper.

I was rather surprised by Zander, actually. Getting inside his head was a true pleasure for me: never had I expected him to be so caring and considerate. He is sexy, passionate and – yes – sweet. He has grown up being the man of the house since his father died and is thus very mature despite the fact that he is only 23 years old. He is a protector by heart which is why he wants to become a cop. The stripping is getting to him and he is actually rather tired of doing it.

“Let me tell you, you may think guys can be crude and vulgar, but holy heck, some of the things I’ve had yelled at me in the middle of a routine would make Hugh Hefner blush.” (Zander)

This is so hilarious! And so true – in my opinion, women can be just as bad as men and I love how Miss Harvey seems to think the same. But back to Zander:

Like Kate, he cannot stop thinking about the night he refused her, but I completely understand why he did it: he did not want a quick lay with Kate, because he thinks she is worth so much more.

“Kate. My fantasy girl personified. From her fiery red hair to her five foot nothing body with curves for miles. She’s a good girl; a take hime to mom kind of girl. Definetely not a one night stand type of girl who you’d subject to the walk of shame the next morning.” (Zander)

After having seen Kate on a date with a much older guy one evening, he drills Mac for details and finds out about the online dating. Zander then concocts a plan – and I was thinking “Oh no” at this part of the story – to get to know Kate better without her knowledge. He knows that Kate may have an issue with him being a part of Mac’s past which is one of the reasons why he will not show his true identity before she knows him better.

That is all you are getting from me about what happens in the book. As with the previous installment in this series, I absolutely LOVED “True Bliss”. It has everything I look for in a romance: drama, funny moments, passionate scenes, and the h/H that are wonderful to get to know. I was riveted to the pages and did not want the book to end! Miss Harvey’s writing style is so engaging, fun, and believable, which is very important to me in a romance. I really like that Mac and Daniel – the characters from the first book, “Temporary Bliss” – are a vital part in this second book, but they do not overshadow Kate and Zander’s love story. Mac is her usual crazy self again, making me laugh out loud, and Daniel is still the swoony Superman, making me sigh happily.

I honestly believe that you will fall in love with Kate and Zander – a.k.a. the God Of Gorgeousness as Kate calls him. And with lines like these, you will not be able to resist this new book boyfriend:

“I love you enough to fight for you until you tell me there is no hope, then I’ll fight harder. You are the only woman I want to be with, to laugh with, to live with, to make love to.” (Zander)

I really cannot wait to see what the author has in store for us in the next book in the series!

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Bj Harvey Picture

Indie Author hailing from the most beautiful country in the world, New Zealand.

Avid reader, television watcher, and facebooker. Having been writing off and on for a long time but started writing fiction in 2012. I love music too, like REALLY love music, if there isn’t music playing, something is wrong. And it’s a wide range of music too, I might surprise you.

I’m a wife to one husband, mother of two gorgeous girls, self-employed doing communications and business consulting as well as studying accounting full time.

 Addicted to energy drinks, chocolate, cronuts, Vampire Diaries and pickles with mustard.

SOCIAL LINKS

Amazon Author Page

GR Author Profile

Twitter

Facebook

Pinterest

BUY LINKS

All Amazon links except for Australia you can find here: http://authl.it/wu
Amazon Australia: http://bit.ly/1jyF0Yc

Here is the excerpt.

Enjoy!

Nightdancer23: Is it wrong that I’m thinking that you, going to sleep in a cold bed, is a crime?

Fireinthesky24: Not wrong. A bit forward maybe, but I can deal with forward from a distance.

Nightdancer23: Good to hear, Firebird. Till next time *wink*

Fireinthesky24: Firebird?

Nightdancer23: Sorry, it’s just a name that came to me when I saw your photo.

Fireinthesky24: I like it 🙂

Well, color me pink and call me candy floss. Forward and flirty. Dammit, why isn’t Mac here to help me decipher this? She’s the queen of reading into things.

Time for bed and a romance novel to drown my sorrows in. I shuffle into my bedroom, snuggling deep under the covers with my kindle, waiting for sleep to come. Ten pages—and one sex scene later–my kindle hits me in the face as I fall asleep holding it.

Kate the dork for the win!

 

5 FACTS ABOUT DANIEL

– 28 years old

– Brown hair, caramel eyes

– Cheeky, dirty sense of humor.

– Fought hard against Mac’s opposition to commitment.

– Works as a stock broker

– Has two older sisters and one brother

5 FACTS ABOUT MAC

– Almost 25 years old

– Brunette, green eyes

– Sassy, independent, crazy funny

– Works as a nurse

– Met partner Daniel on the L train nine months ago

– Used to have three ‘friends with benefits’ before meeting Daniel after swearing off commitment.

Interested in the first book?

If you’re unsure about buying it, perhaps my 5 stars review will help – here’s my review.

Temporary Blis

Published: August 29th

ADD TO GOODREADS

BUY LINKS

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Smashwords

Blurb:

*Disclaimer – There is absolutely no cheating in this book. However, this book does contain descriptive and super hot sex scenes that will make you blush and leave you hot and bothered. Make sure you have you husband, partner, boyfriend or significant other nearby when reading, or else batteries. Lots and lots of batteries*

Makenna Lewis cringes at any mention of the word commitment. She doesn’t want or need a relationship, but she does like sex (who doesn’t).

That explains Noah, Sean, and Zander, her three ‘friends with benefits’.

They know the score, they know they’re not the only one, and each of them provide her with a different physical need that she craves and enjoys. 

Until a late night encounter with the delicious Daniel Winters turns her preconceived notion of no-commitment completely on its head.  

Soon she finds herself feeling things she vowed never to feel again, and when Daniel pushes for more than she’s willing to give, she falters.

What do you do when something that you’ve known to be so wrong in the past feels so damn right?

If you’re Mac, you run and hide.

But is Daniel the type of man who takes no for an answer?

Leave a Reply

