Blog Tour: “Falling” (The Fading Series #2) – My Review, Book Trailer & Giveaway

FallingBlogTourBanner

Hello, my lovelies!

I absolutely ADORE E. K. Blair and I am beyond thrilled to be a part of this blog tour – “Falling” is. without a doubt, one of my absolute faourite books already, and I hope you will enjoy reading my review. You will also be able to view the book trailer + there is a great giveaway for you all to enter.

Enjoy!

FALLINGCoverFINAL

Blurb

Sometimes it takes someone else to show us what we are truly capable of becoming.

Suffering from years of violent abuse, Ryan Campbell has learned how to keep people from getting too close. But when you shut yourself off, people get hurt along the way. Never caring much about others, Ryan creates a world in which he doesn’t have to feel. 

When Ryan meets Candace Parker, all of his walls slowly begin to crumble. Not sure of the truth of who she is, he feels his mind is playing tricks on him. Unable to force out the thoughts that consume him, Ryan is haunted by visions that torment him every time he looks at her. He finds himself swallowed by guilt and blame, but he’s unwilling to turn his back on the one person that could possibly save him.

You’ve heard Candace’s story in Fading, now hear Ryan’s.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Falling TourSchedule

My Review

ARC received by the author in exchange for an honest review

The sign of a great story, in my opinion, is one that gives you chills several times while you are reading it. And reading the final instalment in this series, “Falling, did just that. In a way, I am sad to see it end, but at the same time, I feel so happy because the way it ends is just…perfect!

You may already know, but for those of you are not aware of it, “Falling” is the story of Ryan, Candace’s saviour and, ultimately, her heart. And I suppose you can read this book without having read “Fading”, but I would not recommend it – mainly because I adore these books so much that I do not want you to miss out on getting the whole story. But that is just me.

We first meet Ryan a few weeks prior to Candace’s attack. He is the ultimate player at this point in time: he hooks up with random women, is very clear that he does not do relationships, and the fact of the matter is that he is scared…scared of forming attachments because of his past. And maybe I should warn you now: the prologue of this book is very violent, so brace yourself if you are easily scared – BUT please do not let that deter you! I promise you that you will get your HEA, but you really have to go through both the bad and the good in order to understand the kind of man Ryan is.

Ryan’s past is filled with violence, drugs and women. He feels guilty for not protecting his mother against his father, and even though it is misplaced, he cannot let his sense of failure go. He is also so afraid of becoming like his father, and he hates knowing that he comes from such a despicable man.

“The drinking, the drugs, the rage that fired through me last night – I’m him. He’s a part of me. He runs through my blood. I hate him. I don’t want to be him, but I am.”

The day after his father died, he decided to put the drugs behind him and turn his life around. The women, however, remain. We get to see how he treats a specific woman, Gina, and I have to confess that I did not exactly enjoy reading this part of the book. He does, though, remind her that he was upfront with her from the beginning, and I respect him for that.

Then comes the night of Candace’s attack: he hears commotion outside his bar but writes it off at first, because he is kind of used to drunks getting rowdy when leaving. When he hears a woman screaming, he immediately takes off, and although he beats up the culprit, he cannot hold onto him. Obviously, Ryan is shaken, and he feels real anguish when he sees how badly beaten she is.

In the days after, Ryan reevaluates his life once again, and the guilt of not reaching the woman in time never ceases to torment him. He knows that he has always been honest with the women he hooks up with, but he now feels so much self-loathing about the way he treated them and he does not want to lead that kind of life anymore.

One day, he walks into a coffee shop and he meets Candace: he is shocked because she almost immediately reminds him of the woman who was raped because she is just as small and delicate-looking as she was. But he tells himself that it cannot possibly be her and he tries, once again, to let go of that horrendous night.

The next time Ryan meets Candace, it is at the The xx Concert where she comes in with Jase and Mark. Once again, Ryan feels drawn to her, but her behavior confounds him. Having never thought so much about another woman before, he is confused and curious as to why that is, and he decides that he needs to get to know her better.

Now, if you have read “Fading”, you will know what happens next, but I have to tell you that getting to experience Ryan’s side of story definitely does not feel as if you are getting a repeat of the same book. Because it is not, in a way.

Seeing how Ryan changes from a player to a completely committed man and to experience how he falls for Candace was such a joy to me. His feelings progresses slowly, but surely, and you never feel that they are forced.

“I’m scared of falling anymore than what I already have for Candace, but I want to. God, I want to so bad. I want to connect. I want everything I’ve been too afraid of.”

Getting to know Ryan made me cry, laugh and swoon so many times that I have lost count. As I already stated in the beginning of my review, I got goose-bumps so often while reading, and I am beyond thrilled that the author decided to show us Ryan and Candace’s life as they get back together. I now wish that I could give this book more than 5 stars, because it is so brilliant, so raw, so captivating. I could go on and on with praising this book  and I really wish that you will read it. As with Miss Blair’s previous books, the story and the characters feel REAL, and that is so important to me.

So, to sum up: if you are looking for a story to get under your skin, one that will make you FEEL everything, and one that you will think about for days after finishing it: “Falling” is that book! Honestly, you will not regret it. And if this final quote will not make you swoon over Ryan, well…nothing ever will:

“I took it all, and no amount of pain could make me believe that it wasn’t worth the fall because falling in love with her was the best thing I ever did.”

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

EKBlair

USA Today bestselling author and International Amazon bestselling author, E.K. Blair takes her readers on an emotional roller coaster with her FADING series. A former first grade teacher with an imagination that runs wild. Daydreaming and zoning out is how she was often found in high school. Blair tends to drift towards everything dark and moody. Give her a character and she will take pleasure in breaking them down, digging into their core to find what lies underneath.

Aside from writing, E.K. Blair finds pleasure in music, drinking her Starbucks in peace, and spending time with her friends. She’s a thinker, an artist, a wife, a mom, and everything in between.

Promo2

SOCIAL LINKS

BUY LINKS
Barnes & Noble:  not available yet

Here is the amazing book trailer, ladies!

Falling by E.K. Blair book trailer from Novel Idea Inc. on Vimeo.

Teaser5larger

And do not forget to enter the giveaway!

Falling Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

GOOD LUCK!

teaser4

Leave a Reply

