Blog Tour: “Vendetta” by Autumn Karr & Sienna Lane – My Review, Book Trailer, Excerpt & Giveaway

VendettaTpurBanner

Hello, everyone!

Today, it is my stop on the “Vendetta” blog tour, and let me just say: WOW! This is a really great debut novel and I was blown away by the story.

Besides my review, you will be able to watch the book trailer, read an excerpt plus enter the tour wide giveaway.

Enjoy!

 Vendetta

Title: Vendetta

Authors: Autumn Karr and Sienna Lane

Genre: Contemporary Romance (Forbidden)

Release Date

December 15, 2013

Tour Organized by: As the Pages Turn

Follow the tour!

Synopsis

Please note: this is not dark romance.

I am not a good man.

I have lied and cheated and stolen. I’ve decided between life or death, like it was my due. None of it matters, not anymore. These are not my sins.

I see her raise her hands, the dark metal she’s clutching reflecting the moonlight. Her finger trembles as she cocks the gun pointed at me. Her eyes are cold, determined, but I know.

I know her.

My name is Devon Andre and I confess my sin. I am not a good man because this is the woman I love.

She pulls the trigger.

* Standalone contemporary romance.
* Mature reader advised due to sexual content and strong language.

ADD TO GOODREADS

My Review

ARC received by the authors in exchange for an honest review.

This review will be slightly different from the ones I usually write, meaning that instead of quoting certain passages, I am including some teasers the authors have made because they are so very beautiful. Further, I will not give you my own synopsis of the book because I feel it will ruin the story for you.

I was riveted to this story from the very first page and I had a really hard time putting down my Kindle and go to bed before reaching the end. Take heed, though: if you do not enjoy violence and getting your heart torn to pieces in your books, this book is not for you. Having said that, however, I strongly urge you to pick it up and read it.

The story centers around Leighton Moore and Devon Andre. Very early on, you learn how these two families live in the shadows – they are part of the mafia and on opposite sides. Bit by bit, you learn about their strong feelings towards one another and how and why these two mafia families are sworn enemies. Leighton and Devon are the last people on this earth to fall in love with each other, and they have both struggled to curb their feelings over the years, but to no avail.

Vendetta_Teaser1

Devon’s parents and younger brother disappeared when he was 13 years old, leaving him in the care of his uncle, Frank. And to say that this was a loving environment for him to be brought up in would be a lie. It is, after all, the dark underworld – the mafia – that rules everything with an iron fist. And once you are “in”, there is no “out”. Not alive, anyway. Both Devon and Leighton understand and accept this part of their world.

In the beginning of the story, I had a bit of difficulty connecting with Leighton, but it changed the more I learned about her, and I ended up with really feeling for her. She is a feisty, temperamental and, most importantly, incredibly strong character, and even though she knows that her father – her entire family, in fact – is less than innocent, she does not have a certain role to fill in the great scheme of things. She leads her life and does not ask certain questions.

Devon is an entirely other type of person: he is a killer, plain and simple, and not exactly a good man. He is a very frustrating character, in my opinion, but also a very interesting one. While learning his thoughts and fears, I truly connected with him and understood the difficult choice put before him: does he avenge his family or let go of the past? Letting go when your family has been murdered in cold blood is not an easy thing to do, and I do believe that everyone would feel the same way as he does.
Now, I do not pretend to know a lot about the mafia – scratch that, I know absolutely nothing about it – apart from other books I have read that take place in this environment, but I felt that the rawness of Leighton and Devon’s feelings, the impossibility of them ever finding happiness together due to their families’ hatred, were portrayed very realistically. You live by a certain code in this dark world, no matter the personal costs. You have to honor your family, and you are taught very early in life that blood means everything.

Vendetta_Teaser3
I was clutching my Kindle so hard while reading this tragic love story and I really did not know how it would end. I love when you cannot anticipate anything in a book – and this book was exactly like that. It is written in such a heart-aching manner and I cannot believe that this is a debut novel – yes, the writing is that good – even though I know it is. There are many twists and turn in the story, the tension between Leighton and Devon is palpable, and I love how you do not get all the details about their pasts before near the end. Just when I thought I had it all figured out, I was surprised! So thank you very much for that, Miss Karr & Miss Lane.

The only reason I am not giving this story 5 stars is the fact that even though there is an epilogue, I do not feel that Leighton and Devon’s story is completely finished. But, as usual, that is just my opinion, and who knows? Maybe we will see more of them in the future even though this is said to be a standalone novel. Aside from that, I could feel every emotion these characters felt: anger, despair, elation, happiness…I could go on and on but I will stop here and just tell you that I highly recommend this book and I cannot wait for more stories from these very talented authors.

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

VendettaFulljacket

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

Sienna Lane and Autumn Karr are two friends with a joint love of reading, writing, candy, and Disney heroes (and Disney songs, of course.)

When they aren’t scheming against fictional characters, or talking about their favourite books, you can find them ogling tattooed models and trying to figure out how to get them to do a cover shoot for their next book.

Together they wrote VENDETTA, releasing this December, and hopefully many more books to come.They love to hear from readers, so don’t hesitate to contact them through their Facebook page (http://on.fb.me/18TGRU9).

SOCIAL LINKS

Autumn Karr

Facebook

Goodreads

Twitter

 

Sienna Lane

Facebook

Goodreads

 

Joint Sites

Facebook

Blog

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Barnes & Noble

iTunes

Kobo

VendettaTeaser3

Enjoy the excerpt, ladies!

I shake my head, muttering another curse. I should have just left her there. It’s not like I have an overwhelming urge to play her knight in shining armor. God knows she’s not a damsel in distress. The woman is poison, like all the Moores are. Unfortunately, despite what people think about me, I can’t stand men hitting women, and I’m sure as fuck George wouldn’t have minded taking another swing at her. We may be criminals, but we’re not complete assholes.

She moans again as I put her in the backseat of my black SUV and buckle her in. I round the back, and open up the trunk, looking for something to bind her with. I shake off the fleeting thought that maybe she wouldn’t fight me. It’s Leighton Moore, for fuck’s sake, of course she would.

Fishing out the cable ties, I go back and secure her wrists, then her ankles. It doesn’t seem like enough. I don’t want to see her eyes when she wakes up, which could be any second now, so I remind myself to hurry the fuck up. I take off the scarf from around her neck, feeling the silk under my fingers for just a second. Then I pull out my pocketknife, and slice it in half. I blindfold her, and then gag her with the other half.

At this point I know it’s probably overkill, but I’ve never kidnapped a woman before, so who knows? Plus, it’s Leighton. She’s not just any woman.

Of course I know Leighton Moore. I only wish I didn’t.

I knew who she was the first time I laid my eyes on her. It didn’t make any fucking difference in the grand scheme of things. I was doomed to keep seeing her and not being able to do anything about it.

Shaking off that thought, I finally get in the car and start it, backing out and getting the hell away from this place.

When I’m far enough away, I pull over into a secluded woodland area on the side of the road and just sit there, my car idling. What the fuck do I do with her? I could take her to my place, I guess, but I’m barely ever there. Most of the time I’m either at my uncle’s house or I’m out, working. I take out my phone and stare at it, contemplating. I glance back at her, and realize I have no choice. I have to call my uncle.

Here’s the book trailer!

And don’t forget to enter the giveaway.

Autumn & Sienna are offering up the following:

(2) Signed copy of Vendetta

(2) $10 Amazon Vouchers

(5) eBook copy of Vendetta

(2) Vendetta swag pack

The tour wide giveaway is open internationally.  Giveaway ends at 11:59 PM CST 01/20/2014.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

GOOD LUCK!

Vendetta_Teaser2

Leave a Reply

