Blog Tour: “Kayden: The Past” (Love At Last Series #0.5) by Chelle Bliss – My Review, Excerpt, Book Trailers, Playlist & Giveaway

KaydenTourBlogBanner

Hello, everyone!

Today, it is my turn to participate in the blog tour of this very steamy, heartaching book, “Kayden: The Past” by Chelle Bliss.

Besides my review, you will be able to read an excerpt of the book, watch the book trailers for both books in the series + enter the tour wide giveaway.

Enjoy!

Tour Schedule Link: http://bit.ly/LnkSOt

 Kayden - The Past

Title: Kayden: The Past

Series: Love at Last, Book #0.5

Author: Chelle Bliss

Genre: Erotic Contemporary Romance

Release Date:  December 31, 2013

Tour Organized by: As the Pages Turn

 

Synopsis

** CAN BE READ AS A STAND ALONE NOVEL**

Kayden Michaels has a past filled with sex, addiction, and heartache. A past that he’s avoided sharing with the love of his life, Sophia, and held close to his core not risking rejection. Needing to get his addictions in check and gain control of his life for the sake of his family, Kayden is forced to confront his past and make amends for the path he’s walked.

Kayden must recount every carnal act and the betrayal from those he’s loved to identify the triggers that spur his addictions and overcome it all to be worthy of Sophia’s love – his sole reason to exist.

This is NOT a novella.

ADD TO GOODREADS

My Review

ARC received by the author in exchange for an honest review.

It is no secret that when I read the first book in the Love At Last Series, “Untangle Me”, I had a bit of trouble connecting with Kayden. So when I learned that we would get his story, I really hoped that it would change the way I saw him. And I am happy to say that the author succeeded in making me see Kayden in a different light.
Before I begin my review, I would like to say that I do not think that you should read this book unless you have read “Untangle Me” first.

The story begins with Kayden telling us about his home life and how he was introduced to alcohol for the first time. Like so many others, him and his friends goofed around, trying liquor for the first time, which, I believe, is just normal adolescent behaviour.  While growing up, he had a very strained relationship with his father and he did not really have a proper father figure who would teach him about life. He had to figure a lot of things out all on his own.

There are a pretty number of women in Kayden’s life until he meets Bridget, his first love. She is from a completely different world than him but does not let it come between them. Kayden has some of the happiest moments in life with her and he proposes, thinking that the two of them will grow old together.
Unfortunately, Kayden experiences his first real heartbreak just days before he and Bridget are meant to get married, and he turns to the bottle like so many others in order to cope.

Over the course of the next number of years, Kayden’s life is filled with women, drugs and booze. I will not go into further details about what happens in the book, because that defeats the purpose of a review. But I have to mention Danielle, who becomes his wife, and the subsequent loss they suffer together. My heart broke while reading about it and it definitely makes me understand Kayden’s need to always staying unattached in the years after.

“The letter slipped from my fingers and drifted to the floor. I stood there with my heart beating out of my chest. My body frozen in place. She left me?” (Kayden)

When you experience heartache and loss, you tend to turn to the wrong things because you want to forget and because these things make you feel alive. Further, I believe that Kayden’s line of work does not exactly help matters, which he himself also points out: several unattached guys living together, whose only passion in life is their work, makes for a bad cocktail when you have an addiction you do not want to acknowledge.

Now, as with the first book in the series, “Kayden: The Past” is most definitely a book that I would classify as erotica. Reading about Kayden’s sexcapades – and yes, there are many – will make you all hot and bothered. But I do not think that they are too much, and they show us, the readers, that Kayden is a dominant, alpha male with a healthy appetite for pleasure. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this and, in fact, I do believe that many women would like their partners to be much like him.

I still do not entirely understand why Kayden stays with Lisa for so long, but I do understand him being afraid of failing at yet another relationship. And I actually have to respect him for holding out for so long and really trying to make things work with her.

Reading about how Kayden’s feelings towards Sophia progress after they get to know each other through texting and their subsequent meeting made this romantic bookaholic extremely happy. I always admit that I love it when I read a book that shows the POV of the male protagonist, and this was no different.

“When you truly love someone, you stand by their side and help them through the darkest time in their life. She was meant to come into my life when she did – she saved me.” (Kayden)

All in all, I really enjoyed getting to know Kayden and reading about his life. He has certainly always had to fight for the things he wants, which seems very unfair at times, and I honestly believe that you cannot falter him for becoming addicted to alcohol. I would also like to point out that Miss Bliss’ writing style is, once again, very good and it had me riveted to the pages from the beginning of the story. I am really looking forward to reading the author’s next nook “Throttle Me”, which will centre on Suzy, Sophia’s roommate. I have a feeling that her romantic heart will get some bumps and bruises along the way, but I hope she will get her HEA in the end.

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

Enjoy the excerpt!

“You have a girlfriend, Kayden?” Danielle asked.

“Danielle, if I did, I wouldn’t have fucked Candy last night. I’m a one woman guy.”

“She has a boyfriend, but that didn’t stop you.”

“I didn’t know anything about that. She’s flirted with me for months. I offered and she accepted, simple as that.” I sipped my drink. “What other people do is their business, but when I’m taken, I’m fucking taken. I’ve never been, nor will I ever be a cheater.”

“Hmmm.” She stared into my eyes and licked her lips. Fuck, she’s killing me.  I swallowed hard watching her tongue glide across her lips, wishing they were licking my cock. This is Ron’s girl, stop the dirty fucking thoughts. I needed to remember who she is and that my cock would never be entering that pretty sweet pussy I knew she would have.

I looked away unable to take the torture any longer.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Chelle Bliss has dedicated her life to education. She has been a teacher for over ten years and holds a Master of Education degree. Teaching has given her a creative outlet, but she yearned for something more. Writing has given her that, no longer about just creativity, it became a journey.

Chelle is an avid reader; consuming contemporary romance, dark reads, young adult, and all things erotica. Chelle wanted to create a book filled with characters that readers could relate to with real world problems and matching wallets.

Chelle loves to travel and her favorite cities are New Orleans and Paris. She currently lives in Florida with her amazing boyfriend. He’s showed her the love and passion that she has poured onto the page.

SOCIAL LINKS

Facebook

Twitter

Blog

Pinterest

Goodreads Author Profile

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Barnes & Noble

Smashwords

Check out the book trailers!

“Untangle Me”

“Kayden: The Past”

Enjoy the Playlist!

If you have yet to read the first book, “Untangle Me”, here is all the info that you need:

Title: Untangle Me

Series: Love at Last, Book #1

Author: Chelle Bliss

Genre: Erotic Contemporary Romance

Release Date:  September 26, 2013

Tour Organized by: As the Pages Turn

Synopsis:

Kayden is a bad boy that never played by the rules. Sophia has always been the quintessential good girl, living a life filled with disappointment. Everything changes when their lives become intertwined through a chance encounter online.

Hundreds of miles separate them, but the connection that draws them together is too much to be denied. As the layers of their lives peel back, Kayden keeps the dangerous parts of his past hidden to protect the woman who is becoming more important to him than he should allow. What starts as a pursuit of carnal pleasure turns into a complicated love story. His past is a tangled web filled with addiction, an obsessed ex-girlfriend, and problems with the law.

One mistake he thought he had left behind may end up ruining it all.

ADD TO GOODREADS

PURCHASE LINKS 

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Barnes & Noble

Smashwords

Here is the giveaway, ladies!

Chelle is offering up (5) eBooks of “Untangle Me” (INTL), (5) Swag Packs (INTL), (1) $10 Amazon GC (INTL) or (2) signed copy of either “Untangle Me” or “Kayden: The Past” (US only).  Giveaway ends at 11:59 PM CST 01/27/2014.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

GOOD LUCK!

KaydenTeaser

Leave a Reply

