Release Day Blitz: “Spark” (Spark Series #1) by Jennifer Ryder – My Review, Teaser & Giveaway

Spark Release Banner

Hello, my lovelies!

Happy Friday!

I am thrilled and honoured to be a part of the release day blitz of this AMAZING author’s debut novel, “Spark”. All romance & new adult lovers will enjoy this book, I am sure.

Today, you will find my review and a great giveaway for you all to enter.

Enjoy!

SparkCover

Title: Spark (Spark Series #1)

Author: Jennifer Ryder

Release Date: 28th February, 2014

Genre: New Adult Erotic Romance

 

Synopsis

Not many people know that I, Eevie Lawson, have a problem. An addiction to romance novels. I eat them for breakfast. I hide it the best I can, but I need them to breathe. It’s how I cope.

I’ve had a swag of book boyfriends, but now that I’m free from the responsibility of caring for my three younger brothers, it’s time to find one in the flesh.

In real life, no girl meets their hero on page one, or even at the end of chapter one. I should know.

My journey is real. It’s not perfect, and it sure as hell isn’t easy—but the fight for something worthwhile never is.

ADD TO GOODREADS

My Review

ARC received by the author in exchange for an honest review

Once again, I am experiencing quite a book hangover. This romance novel has everything that you could wish for: it is original, fun, sexy, and with angst and drama aplenty.

Meet Genevieve (Eevie): she is a sassy 20-year-old who has just moved out from her parents’ and she is longing to spread her wings a bit. She has never been in a romantic relationship and she is dreaming about finding herself in the kind of romance that she, so far, has only read about. Yes, she is a bookworm, and perhaps a bit naive, but due to family issues she is also very mature beyond her years in some aspects.

The hardships that Eevie has endured in the past have very much been a factor in making her the kind of person she is today, and she will have to endure much more before getting her HEA. Fortunately, she has a great support system in her room mate, Crystal, and her co-worker, Cassie. For a brief time, she also has her friend, Jon, but…well, read the book in order to learn more about him *wink*.

This book follows the ups and downs in Eevie’s life. As you know, I do not like to say too much about the actual storyline in fear of spoiling it for you – particularly with this story because there is simply A LOT going on in it, and, to me, all the drama is actually very important: the experiences that Eevie has all help in letting her find out who she really is. This leads me to classify this romance novel as a coming-of-age story as we immerse ourselves into learning how Eevie finds her strengths and weaknesses.

“Someday. I would find someone I could love, and that same someone could love me. I’d really thought this stuff would be easier. The perfect guy and girl always find each other in my books. When will it be my turn?” (Eevie)

I found Eevie to be an incredibly endearing character. It is seldom I come across a book heroine that I do not find some kind of fault with, but I am thrilled to say that I could connect with Eevie on so many levels. She is a truly strong person, very smart, and even rather funny. Does she make mistakes? Of course she does, she is only 20! And did I cringe because of some of the choices she made? Absolutely! But let us face it: who has not done something in their early adulthood they regret later in life? Her longing to find that special someone, the one who will spark up her life really hit home. Furthermore, the parts that made me simultaneously shake my head, asking “Why do you go and do something like this?!”, and nod my head, thinking, “Yep, been there!”, are actually very realistic, at least in my opinion. Like I stated above, Eevie cannot get free of the drama, but she tries to bury her head in the sand in order to get away from it instead of dealing with it – and, again, I say: who can blame her? So yes, I completely understand many of her actions and reactions.

As for Aidan, Eevie’s perfect match…Well, he is absolutely gorgeous! He is honestly one of the most swoon-worthy book boyfriends I have ever come across – and I have met many of those – so that statement should give you a pretty good clue as to how much I love him. Even though Eevie and Aidan meet early on in the book, it takes quite a while before they form a romantic relationship. Aidan is sweet, a bit naughty, and a pretty funny guy as well. I get the feeling that there is more than meets the eye with this guy, and I am already longing to read the next book in the series, “Spike”.

“That’s one of the many things I love about you, Eevie. You’re resilient, no matter what.” … “…please, baby…I’m here for you, so, let me be the one that’s strong…even if it’s just for today.” (Aidan)

I find it hard to believe that this is Miss Ryder’s first novel: her writing draws you in from page one, the pacing of the story is perfect and she has created a whole set of characters that show great depth and compassion towards others – ones that will make you feel as if you could spend a great night at the pub with them. Also, there is a great balance between the more serious moments and the funny ones. To put it bluntly: I am in awe of this author!

If you are still in doubt about whether or not you should buy this book, let me do a quick roundup of all the reasons why you should:

Will you sigh, cry and laugh while reading Eevie’s story? Yes. Will you see characters that are two-dimensional and that feel real and believable? Yes. Will you feel every single emotion Eevie experiences? Yes. Will you swoon over Aidan and love the touch of naughtiness in him? I really think you will! And if you are still not sure: well, take a chance and try something new.

As you can tell, I truly fell in love with Eevie and this book has now been added to my favourite books shelf – that is, after all, how I can show how highly I value a book, and I know that I will read it many times in the future.

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon AUS

Amazon US

Amazon UK

SparkTeaser3

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

JenniferRyderPic

New Adult and erotic romance writer. My debut novel ‘Spark’, part of a four part romantic suspense series will be released on 28 February 2014!

A sexy imagination, a life-long love of books and a sucker for romance, Jennifer Ryder couldn’t stifle her creativity any longer.

Writing steamy adult romance has become her new focus. Living on a rural property in New South Wales, Australia, she enjoys the best of city and country.

Her loving husband is ever willing to provide inspiration, and her two young cherubs, and sheep that don’t see fences as barriers, keep life more than interesting.

Jennifer placed third in the International Stringybark Erotic Short Fiction Award 2013.

SOCIAL LINKS

Facebook

Goodreads Author Profile

Twitter

Remember to enter the giveaway, everyone!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

GOOD LUCK!

BTSPRprofile-1

Leave a Reply

