“Fierce” (Fierce #1) by Clarissa Wild – My Review

Handsome young man posing.

Title: “Fierce” (Fierce #1)

Author: Clarissa Wild

Genre: Contemporary New Adult Romance

Release Date: 24th January, 2014

Synopsis

Fight for your dreams. Fight for your life. Fight for love.

Nerdy girl Autumn Blakewood is the prime example of a goody two-shoes. She studies every night, is never late for class, and always follows the rules. She has never felt the need to step out of her comfort zone. That is, until she meets Hunter.

Hunter Bane is a cocky, confident bad-boy, who’s nothing but trouble. He’s a dangerous distraction to everyone around him. Sexy and strong, Hunter enjoys the swooning effect he has on women. Especially those who aren’t used to attention, like Autumn.

Autumn finds it hard not to give into Hunter’s advances, even though it all seems like a game to him. Trying to understand him is impossible, because he shrouds himself in mystery.
What she doesn’t know is that Hunter has more baggage than anyone should have to carry. When she discovers he’s in an illegal frat club to save the one person that matters to him, Autumn realizes this could mean the end of her undeniable connection to him. Even their lives are at risk.
But it’s too late to turn back now.

ADD TO GOODREADS

My Review

Complimentary copy given by the author in exchange for an honest review

This is one of those times when I am finding it hard to put my thoughts into complete sentences, because I must admit that I had quite a few problems with this book. At the same time, I do not want to give you any spoilers – as I have said before: no two people read the same book, meaning that just because I did not become fully invested in it, who is to say that the same will happen to you? I will do my best to voice my concerns without ruining it for you.

But first of all, I want to say that there is no real point in me giving you a long and lengthy synopsis of the book as it is already very explicit, and I feel that it is rather pointless of me to repeat any of the actual storyline to you. I will, however, tell you that the story is told solely from Autumn’s point of view.

So let me begin listing the parts of the story I enjoyed:

For a while – until the 30% mark – I liked getting to know Autumn; her shyness felt rather endearing, and her sadness over losing Brody seemed realistic and understandable – he has, after all, been a great friend to her in the past. Furthermore, I could understand her getting frustrated about Hunter constantly changing his mind about her. I also feel that her relationship with Evie turning complicated was portrayed really well by the author.

And Hunter? Well, at first he is a very interesting character – he keeps his thoughts hidden, and the fact that Autumn keeps getting butterflies in her stomach was rather funny to read about. I liked the air of mystery surrounding him, and I was fully invested in uncovering his secrets, but, again, only until 30% into the book – and that is when things started to frustrate me.

I would also like to stress that I could absolutely feel the strong attraction between Autumn and Hunter – it is scorching hot! So I really think that the author did a good job with letting us see that, no question about that.

First of all, I have to say that although I liked Autumn in the beginning of the book, her innocence started to grate on my nerves. She almost seems to be too innocent, too naïve, considering she is supposed to be starting college. To put it bluntly: to me, Autumn was acting more like a girl in high school instead of a freshman at college. Furthermore, I am saddened by the fact that we do not get that much information about her background aside from the fact that her family is poor; and I would have liked to learn more.

The part about Hunter that did not work for me was him changing his mind all…the…time. Granted, when you read about his learning disability, you understand his actions, but only up until a certain point. To be perfectly honest, his mood swings were giving me whiplash, and I am sorry to say that I even wanted to quit reading the book and move on from time to time…However, I very seldom do that, and I am actually glad that I persevered.

Apart from my issues with these characters, I also had some problems with the suspense part of the story: in some ways, I think it was a good theme to write about – and I am sure that a lot of drugs circulate at colleges all the time – but I find it hard to believe that dealing with drugs can be done so much out in the open. But maybe that is just my ignorance voicing itself here as it is a world completely foreign to me.

The main reason I am not giving this book a higher rating – aside from the issues mentioned above – is that I feel that the ending was rushed unnecessarily. I would have liked the book much more if the author had slowed down a bit and given us some more details, or even an epilogue, in order for the story to come full circle.

This review may seem a bit harsh…and you may be right. However, I have always said that I would be completely honest in my reviews, without disrespecting the authors, of course, and I hope that you do not feel that I am being too judgmental. I really think that you can feel that Miss Wild writes with great passion for her characters, that she cares for them deeply; I am just sorry to say that, to me,  the promise of Autumn and Hunter’s journey seemed better than it actually was.

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

PURCHASE LINKS

AmazonBarnes&NobleKoboiTunesGoogle PlaySmashwordsAll Romance

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Clarissa Wild is the Amazon Bestselling Romance author of FIERCE, a top 200 and top 15 New Adult Romance novel. She is also a writer of erotic romance such as the Blissful Series, The Billionaire’s Bet series, the Doing It Series and the Enflamed Series. She is an avid reader and writer of sexy stories about hot men and feisty women. Her other loves include her furry cat friend and learning about different cultures. In her free time she enjoys watching all sorts of movies, reading tons of books and cooking her favorite meals.

SOCIAL LINKS

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Pinterest

Leave a Reply

