“Fury” (Fierce #1.5) by Clarissa Wild – My Review

Sexy handsome man posing.

Title: “Fury” (Fierce #1.5)

Author: Clarissa Wild

Genre: Contemporary New Adult Romance

Release Date: 17th March, 2014

Synopsis

Would you risk everything for love?

Life has held nothing but hardships for Hunter Bane. Growing up with a learning disability wasn’t easy, especially when you’re poor. With only his brother to support him, Hunter clings to the short moments of happiness in life. Like when he meets Autumn Blakewood.

Autumn Blakewood is a geek at heart. Reading is her passion, and she can’t spend one day without her books. She’s always locked up in her room studying, trying to avoid trouble. Until Hunter comes into her life.

Hunter can’t resist the temptation to get closer to Autumn. She is his complete opposite, and yet he’s drawn to her in ways he can’t explain. But when his brother is caught dealing drugs and sent to prison, Hunter’s world shatters.
To save his brother, Hunter has to join the gang he’s feared his entire life. Now he’s forced to choose between his family and the one girl he loves. Fighting for both, his fury is all he needs.

ADD TO GOODREADS

My Review

Complimentary copy given by the author in exchange for an honest review

Before I begin my actual review of this book, I have to tell you that it is the companion novel to “Fierce” and that means that this is the same exact story but told from the viewpoint of Hunter, our hero.

As with the first book in the series, I was not completely taken in by this one – I do, however, think that it is slightly better and that many of the issues I had before were almost, if not completely, resolved.

It was very fascinating to me getting inside Hunter’s mind and experiencing what he struggles with every single day of his life: his mental disability – or whatever we should call it – is a constant thorn in his side, and I really think that the author managed to let his frustrations and insecurities come out, allowing the reader the opportunity to empathize with Hunter.

And how frustrating it must be, meeting a girl you are attracted to and not really being able to remember her name unless you write it down. Or even being able to remember exactly how you met her! So yes, I really felt for Hunter when I read this part of the book.

Furthermore, it was great getting to see how close Hunter is to his brother, Jessie, and how he is adamant in figuring out a way for him to get Jessie out of prison. His feelings of helplessness and anger over his brother’s destiny was very moving, and even though I could not understand all Hunter’s reasons for doing the things he do, my heart hurt a lot while reading about his struggles.

I am sorry to have to do this again, but I still have some concerns which make me unable to give this book more stars than I have.

First of all, I completely understand that the author intends to show us how much Hunter struggles with his attraction towards Autumn when he should be concentrating about his brother…but I still cannot grasp why Hunter keeps changing his mind about pursuing Autumn or not. I mean, in my opinion, Hunter’s reasons do not seem that valid, so I am still left a bit in the dark about them. I had hoped that by reading the same story from Hunter’s POV would have shed some light on this matter, but I am not feeling satisfied.

Secondly, I believe that Hunter’s story needs some more editing – not in terms of grammar or anything like that – because I caught myself noticing that there were a lot of repetitions in the book. On more than one occasion, I felt that what I had just read had been mentioned previously and that made me a bit annoyed.

Lastly, I had hoped that there would be an epilogue in this installment of the series in order to pick up any loose ends, but sadly, that is not the case.

I am well aware of the fact that a lot of readers will not agree with my issues, and I honestly do not expect them to. This is my opinion only, so I do encourage you to pick up the novel and make up your own mind about it. Reading is subjective, as it should be, and I still think that Miss Wild is great at showing us how passionately she feels about her characters – I will definitely read more books from her in the future.

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

PURCHASE LINKS

AmazonBarnes&NobleKoboiTunesGoogle PlaySmashwordsAll Romance

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Clarissa Wild is the Amazon Bestselling Romance author of FIERCE, a top 200 and top 15 New Adult Romance novel. She is also a writer of erotic romance such as the Blissful Series, The Billionaire’s Bet series, the Doing It Series and the Enflamed Series. She is an avid reader and writer of sexy stories about hot men and feisty women. Her other loves include her furry cat friend and learning about different cultures. In her free time she enjoys watching all sorts of movies, reading tons of books and cooking her favorite meals.

SOCIAL LINKS

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Pinterest

Leave a Reply

