Promo Tour: “Sweet Filthy Boy” (Wild Seasons #1) by Christina Lauren – My Review

 

 

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

SweetFilthyBoyCover

Title: “Sweet Filthy Boy” (Wild Seasons #1)

Authors: Christina Lauren

Genre: Contemporary New Adult Romance/Erotica

Release Date: 13th May, 2014.

Synopsis

One-night stands are supposed to be with someone convenient, or wickedly persuasive, or regrettable. They aren’t supposed to be with someone like him.

But after a crazy Vegas weekend celebrating her college graduation—and terrified of the future path she knows is a cop-out—Mia Holland makes the wildest decision of her life: follow Ansel Guillaume—her sweet, filthy fling—to France for the summer and just…play.

When feelings begin to develop behind the provocative roles they take on, and their temporary masquerade adventures begin to feel real, Mia will have to decide if she belongs in the life she left because it was all wrong, or in the strange new one that seems worlds away.

ADD TO GOODREADS

My review

Complimentary copy given by the authors/publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

I love adding authors to the list of my favourites – so yes, I might as well tell you all right away that I loved this book! It has just the right amount of drama, angst, sweet romance and raw passion that I look for in the romance novels that I read, and I just know that I will be devouring the other books these ladies have written as soon as possible. As the synopsis pretty much tells you a lot of what takes place in this romance, I will not be adding that much to it. Meet Mia: when we first see her, she seems quiet, a bit unsure of herself and not really wanting to think about the future already set out for her. Which is why she has been looking forward to a weekend filled with fun together with her two best friends, Harlow and Lola, for a long time. Upon meeting Ansel one night, she immediately feels attracted to him, and she decides to let loose for a while and pretend that she is the kind of woman who can have a wild, passionate, one-night-stand with a gorgeous, fun and sexy Frenchman. It seems so simple, right?

But what happens when you wake up the next day and reality sets in? And how are you supposed to feel when you find out that you are now married to your one-night-stand? Lastly, what do you do when said lovely man wants you to come away with him to Paris for the summer? One of the things I love about Mia and her story is the fact that she is so real. In my opinion, her thoughts and feelings of not knowing what to do with her life are so believable – these authors definitely know how to portray a woman who has yet to fully come into her own. I mean, how many of us actually knew what career path to take when we finished college? Mia’s feelings of entrapment, the expectations of her father and his conditions are pretty sad to read about, but, again, easy to relate to.

As for Ansel…Well, I adore him! And the title of the book is very apt, I might add: he is a sweet, filthy boy. He is charming, playful, and, above all, charismatic when we first meet him. But the more you get to know him, you see his vulnerabilities as well, and I truly fell in love with him. His zest for life is astounding, yet it makes him a perfect match for Mia. Whereas Mia is cautious and shy, Ansel is impulsive and outgoing.

I have to say that although I really fell for the characters in this novel, it is the setting and their circumstances that make this a 5 star read for me: the fact of the matter is that even though Mia and Ansel have a certain kind of chemistry right from the beginning, they are, virtually, strangers – and I honestly believe that the way the authors choose to tell their story is, again, very realistic. Because they are strangers, they do not know all those little details you know about your partner before you marry them. And letting the readers experience how Mia and Ansel approach this rather significant fact is truly unique, and so different from what I have read before.

To me, this book is pretty much perfect: like I stated earlier, Mia and Ansel are wonderful characters, with many flaws and issues, just like real people, and that is why you will find them adorable and easy to relate to; the secondary characters – Harlow and Lola, especially – made me laugh a great deal, but you can absolutely sense that these three ladies know each other inside out, and that is even more important to me. The writing style is most definitely also very unique: there is plenty of humour, romance and some rather steamy scenes that made me blush, and I actually felt a bit sad when I read the final page of the book. So like I said in the beginning of this review: I am now a huge fan of Christina Lauren’s books, and I have a feeling that I will soon own all their books in paperback. I believe I have mentioned before that that is actually the best way I can show authors how much their books have touched me: buying their books and putting them on My Favourite Books shelf.

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

 

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

iTunes

Sony

Amazon.co.uk

Simon & Schuster

Powell’s Books

The King’s English

Mysterious Galaxy

Indie Bound

Target

 

ABOUT THE AUTHORS & SOCIAL LINKS

CLo

Lauren Billings (but everyone calls her Lo) has a Ph.D. in neuroscience and before she made writing her full-time job, would spend her days doing nerdy research-type things wearing a lab coat and goggles. She is silly Mommy to two littles, wife to one mountain biking homebrewing scientist, bestie to a shoe-stealer, and an unabashed lover of YA and romance.

Christina Hobbs (but you’ll always hear Lo call her PQ) used to spend her days in a junior high counseling office surrounded by teenagers. Married to the cutest boy in school, she has a thirteen year old daughter, is an unapologetic lover of boy bands and glitter, and also likes to steal Lo’s shoes.

You can follow their shenanigans at:

@lolashoes (Lauren) & @seeCwrite (Christina) on Twitter. On Tumblr! where we post kissing gifs and writerly stuff and Wattpad for short stories and sneak peeks!

For official information about their books, events, interviews, movie news and more, follow @beautifulbastrd.


 

Leave a Reply

