Blog Tour: “Spike” (Spark #2) by Jennifer Ryder – My Review, Excerpt, Playlist & Giveaway

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000031_00006]

 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000031_00006]

Title: Spike (Spark, #2)

Author: Jennifer Ryder

Release Date: 28th May, 2014

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance/Erotica

 

Synopsis

I, Aidan Stone, got the girl.

My beautiful Eevie is sweet and sassy, and she owns my heart like no other. I promised her, I’d always protect her, and I meant it, but shit just got serious.

Blackmail. Extortion. And Eevie is the target.

Sometimes the past comes back to haunt us. Sometimes, no matter how hard you try to distance yourself from it, it comes back and bites you on the arse. And in walks Mr Hotshot Detective, Ryan Clark, thinkin’ he can save the day and take my girl.

Well, I’ve got news for him.

ADD TO GOODREADS

My Review

Complimentary copy given by the author in exchange for an honest review

If you follow my reviews, you will know how much I loved the first book in the series, “Spark”, and if that is not the case, you can find my review on my blog.

Whereas I feel that “Spark” was mostly about Eevie’s personal journey to becoming her own woman, “Spike” takes it one step further and tells us the love story of Eevie and Aidan and about the hardships they have to go through together in order to find their happy-ever-after. Do not be alarmed, though: there are plenty of sweet, funny and sexy moments as there were in the first book. But let me start at the beginning:

It has been six months since Eevie and Aidan began their romantic relationship and they are still very much in love with each other. That special spark they have always shared is still there, and you can immediately feel their deep connection when you start reading the book. Aidan asks Eevie to move in with him, and she eagerly says yes. They are both ready to take their relationship further, and you would think that their future will be filled with nothing but happiness from now on. That is not the case, however, and without giving you any spoilers (which I hate), I will just say that I was rather thrown when I found out who the culprit was. And that is all you will get from me on the matter.

I might as well lay the cards on the table right now and let you know that, once again, I loved Eevie and Aidan. Like I stated above, they just have that certain connection that most people long to find in their partners, and their love for one another is evident on every page. Their banter is loveable, sexy and funny, and their deep-seated need to protect each other from heartache and strife is palpable. They are truly soul mates, and Miss Ryder definitely knows how to convey this with her writing.

Eevie is still a feisty, adorable character. But what makes me love her even more now is the fact that she has become a stronger, self-confident woman, and her wanting to protect Aidan shows great character – even though she does go about doing it the wrong way. Nevertheless, I enjoyed seeing how much she has evolved, both on her own but also through her relationship with Aidan, and that is definitely part of the reasons for my high rating of this novel.

Let me say one or two things about Aidan now. Oh my goodness, he is swoon-worthy: cute, alpha, and sexy. I love his naughty side, his sense of humour, and his ability to love unconditionally. I am thrilled that the author gives us his point of view this time because it allows the reader to fully connect with him. His passion for his sport is made clearer in “Spike”, but it is also great learning how that it is not all he focuses on. No, he sees Eevie, and he has always known, purely by instinct, that she is the woman made for him. She is it for him, plain and simple, and he is not afraid to show the world that that is how he feels.

I am not trying to paint a picture of two perfect people: they are definitely not infallible. If they were portrayed as such, I would, in all honesty, not like their story. Both Eevie and Aidan make mistakes, but these mistakes are done in order to protect each other. This is why they seem so realistic, and why you can relate to and connect with them completely. They will have to learn to fully trust and depend on each other in order for them to get their happy ending which is also the way it is with real people in the real world.

As with the first installment in the Spark Series, I really like Miss Ryder’s way of telling a story. Her writing is very down-to-earth with just a touch of quirkiness (if that is even a word?), the pace of the story is perfect, with plenty of steamy, yet tasteful, scenes that left me blushing more than once. Last, there is no question about the fact that she feels very strongly for her characters. I also really love her introducing us to some new secondary characters: a very sexy police detective – Ryan – and a teammate of Aidan’s – Jones. These men…? Well, you just know that they hold many secrets and that what you see is not what you will get – at least not completely. I believe Miss Ryder will be releasing their stories later this year, and I just know that they will be very interesting and…how should I put it…? The only words coming to mind at the moment are naughty ones so I better watch my tongue. Suffice it to say, I am awaiting their stories with bated breath!

I do not feel that I can write that much more without giving too much of the story away. The suspense element works really well, in my opinion, and you are in for quite a wild ride when you read the book. The range of emotions is wide: funny, romantic, painful, passionate…I could go on and on, but I choose not to. All I will leave you with is this: if you loved “Spark”, you will adore “Spike”!

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

 

Enjoy the excerpt, everyone!

Today, I feel like a king with a convincing win under my belt, and the beauty on my arm is the envy of most of the guys here. Life can’t get any better.

I introduce Eevie around. She shakes hands like she means it, holds her own in conversation, and gets the occasional laugh out of guys I didn’t think had a sense of humour. She must’ve been taking note of some of the ins and outs of motocross, having the balls to ask some interesting questions.

Take note, people: funny, intelligent woman with the guts and looks to match. That confidence is heartbreak material. They’re practically drooling over her. It’s almost pathetic. If they thought they had half a chance, they’d be down on their knees in a millisecond begging for a shot.

Boys, it ain’t gonna happen. Every delectable inch of her is mine, including her heart.

Talking with some of the support crew, Jones edges his way into the conversation, standing a little close to Eevie for my liking. He puffs out his chest, and hooks his thumbs through the front loops of his jeans. Blonde hair and a baby face, he’s a pretty boy. A mummy’s boy. From the way he carries on, he probably got everything he ever wanted as a kid, and had all the latest gear. Mum could barely afford to buy my jerseys, and when she did, I wore them until I outgrew them. I had no choice but to make them last. Last round Jones threw a tantrum like a three year old over something stupid. He got what he wanted, though. Disgusting. Not that I give a shit where he’s come from; at least I know I don’t carry on like a fucking twit.

My eyes are on Jones, and he knows it. Damn it, if he doesn’t like pushing my buttons, and having Eevie here he’s gonna do anything he can to push. If he weren’t on my team I’d barely give him the time of day. He’d be half an alright bloke if he wasn’t so self-absorbed.

He acts like he’s engrossed in what Eevie’s talking about, but his eyes travel down her chest, and even lower, as if he’s trying to rip her clothes off purely with the power of his mind. It heats my blood more than it should.

“When you’re ready for a real man, Eevie, come knockin’ on my door,” Jones says. His eyes dart in my direction before resting back on Eevie’s tits. Fucking douchebag.

Eevie frowns, and purses her glossy lips. “Sorry, I don’t understand. If I’m ready for a real man, why would I knock on your door? Wouldn’t I just go home?” She bats those long lashes. That’s my girl.

Everybody erupts into a fit of laughter, me louder than most. Jones shakes his head, and playfully punches me in the arm. “You’re killin’ me, Aidan. You win today, and I hate you for it, and now your woman’s gonna break my heart,” he says, faking a southern American accent. He clutches his chest as if wounded, and winks at Eevie.

I take a long swig of my beer. “Life’s a bitch, Jones.” Now fuck off.

 

And here’s the Spike Playlist

 

PURCHASE LINKS

Spike (Spark, #2)

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000031_00006]

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Kobo

 

 

Spark (Spark, #1)

1964665_1411042529145435_1643586685_n

B&N | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Kobo

Goodreads

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

7511241

 

New Adult and erotic romance writer, and author of the Spark series. The second book in the five part series, Spike, is to be released on 28 May 2014.

A sexy imagination, a life-long love of books and a sucker for romance, Jennifer Ryder couldn’t stifle her creativity any longer.

Writing steamy adult romance has become her new focus. Living on a rural property in New South Wales, Australia, she enjoys the best of city and country.

Her loving husband is ever willing to provide inspiration, and her two young cherubs, and sheep that don’t see fences as barriers, keep life more than interesting.

Jennifer placed third in the International Stringybark Erotic Short Fiction Award 2013.

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS

Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Email

 

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

GOOD LUCK!

love 2

Leave a Reply

