***One Year Blogoversary Post: Thoughts & Giveaway***

Anniversary

Hello, lovelies!

Can I just say: WOWZA! I have now been a book blogger for an entire year, and I can scarce believe it. This year has just flown by in a complete whirlwind, and I want to thank you ALL for giving this Dane some of your time and attention since the day I started this blog.

To be perfectly honest, I did not set out with a big goal in mind when I first created this blog…I just thought that paying back my favourite authors, including some new ones, by writing reviews and spreading the word about their work would be a good idea. I had hoped that more readers from my country would follow it, of course, but I do not think that is the case. Never mind that – it does not matter that much, really.

To all the authors who gave this new blogger a chance: THANK YOU! Thank you for your wonderful stories! And thank you for the friendship… ❤

Now, in order to celebrate this very satisfying milestone, I want to give you all the chance to WIN one of my favourite books: “Ugly Love” by Colleen Hoover. I was very fortunate to receive a paperback copy from the UK Publisher, BUT I had also preordered it on Amazon before that…So I thought to myself: “I do not really need two copies of the same book, now do I?” *wink* Nope, I absolutely do not. SO I am giving one copy away! Yes, this giveaway is OPEN INTERNATIONALLY! Yes, I will even dispatch the copy to Timbuktu if that is where the winner lives. I honestly do not mind doing this…So many giveaways are US only – and I really do understand this, because the shipping costs are MAD – and I just want everyone to have a chance at winning this fantastic book.

So: if you are unsure about whether or not this is a book for you, I have included my review in this blog post – you will find it below. Perhaps that will convince you. AND if you are jumping up and down already with excitement, just keep scrolling further down, and you will find the link to the Rafflecopter I have set up.

Right, I will finish now, but again: THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR BEING HERE!!! I truly appreciate it!

❤ ❤ ❤ GOOD LUCK ❤ ❤ ❤

UglyLoveUKEdition

Title: “Ugly Love”

Author: Colleen Hoover

Genre: Contemporary New Adult Romance

Release Date: 5th August, 2014.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK

SYNOPSIS

When Tate Collins finds airline pilot Miles Archer passed out in front of her apartment door, it is definitely not love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. But what they do have is an undeniable mutual attraction.

He doesn’t want love and she doesn’t have time for a relationship, but their chemistry cannot be ignored. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up, as long as Tate can stick to two rules: Never ask about the past and don’t expect a future.

Tate is determined that she can handle it, but when she realises that she can’t, will she be able to say no to her sexy pilot when he lives just next door?

This new romance from Colleen Hoover will have you laughing and crying in equal measure – definitely her best book yet!

ADD TO GOODREADS

 

My Review

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Do you all know how some books make you want to read them again as soon as you have finished reading them for the first time? That is how I always feel when I read a book by Miss Hoover – I believe I read “Slammed” three times when it was first released back in 2012 – and it is no different with “Ugly Love”. Since turning the final page three days ago, I have been nursing a massive book hangover – and, yes, I want to read the book again already! But I must confess that I find it quite a challenge putting my thoughts down, because I know – just know – that I will not be able to fully express my love for Tate and Miles’ story. It is just one of those times when I believe that my words will be inadequate; on one hand, I want to tell everyone all the details about the story – because I love it – but on the other hand, I will never forgive myself for revealing everything to you. Naturally, I refuse to do the latter – but that leaves me almost lost for words…I will do my best, though, to try to describe all the feelings I went through while reading this book. I went into this book without having read more than the synopsis on the back of the book. It is true: I did not want to read any reviews – spoiler free or not – because I wanted to be surprised. And, oh yes, my wish was granted: I was in for many surprises along the way.

Tate Collins meets Miles Archer in a rather unconventional way: passed out drunk in front of the door to the apartment she is about to share with her brother, Corbin, for a couple of months while finishing her masters in nursing. To say that these two get off on the wrong foot would be an understatement, and the last thing Tate needs in her life right now is a crush on her brother’s friend.

“He wants me for sex. I kind of miss sex. It’s been a while. I know I’m definitely attracted to him and can’t think of anyone else in my life I’d rather have casual, meaningless sex with than my airline pilot, laundry-folding neighbour.”

Despite the fact that Miles is taciturn, never divulging anything about him, and is downright rude, Tate finds herself becoming very attracted to him. And the strangest thing is that Miles is attracted to her…Then a bargain is made between them, one that seems simple and straight. But what happens when Tate finds herself wanting to break the two simple rules that Miles has set up?

‘“Don’t ask about my past,” he says firmly. “And never expect a future.”’

Well, the answer lies in the book, naturally.

Tate is a very strong character, in my opinion. I like how she always has a quick comeback when either Miles or Corbin says something she disagrees with. She is also a rather temperamental and emotional person, but I think that is why I connected so strongly with her. As she starts developing deeper feelings towards Miles, my heart was bleeding for her, because I was so afraid that she would snap at some point, and that the outcome would not be pretty – and I was right. It was ugly, gut-wrenching, yet believable.

As for Miles…He is such a conundrum, plain and simple! Yes, you get his point of view in the book, but not in the way you expect it. (And that is one of the surprises I cannot divulge…) Miles is such a deeply broken man, but he was not always like this, of course. Due to some very traumatic events, he has chosen to close himself completely off from life. He is not exactly living…simply existing. As I got to know Miles – past and present – I found myself almost biting my nails because of the suspense, and I could not see how he would ever become able to fully breathe again. Allowing himself to become involved with Tate, however, slowly makes him realize that he has to start living his life to the fullest instead of living in the past. Did I want to throttle him sometimes? Oh, absolutely! He made me very frustrated, but once I learned the truth, I understood him so much better and was able to forgive him.

“She’s absolutely beautiful. Her hope is beautiful. The smile on her face is beautiful. The tears streaming down her cheeks are beautiful. Her love is beautiful.”

If you, like me, are a fan of Miss Hoover’s work, I am sure that you will want to buy “Ugly Love” simply because of that. And, as I stated above, you are in for many surprises in this latest work of hers. But I cannot say that I am surprised about the fact that I found myself crying – a lot – while reading the book, because that is what always happens when I read one of this author’s stories: they pull at all your heartstrings, making you fall in love with her characters, and making you completely engaged in their story. And even though I personally always truly hope and pray for a happy-ever-after, I always wonder: “Will there really be one this time?” Miss Hoover’s HEAs are somehow always bittersweet, but I find myself thinking that that is part of why I love them so much: her characters and the circumstances they find themselves in are always real, and honest. Life is messy, and the heartache and sadness many of us go through at some point in our lives make us come out stronger. And that, in my opinion, is the same for Miss Hoover’s characters.

“The difference between the ugly side and the beautiful side of love is that the beautiful side is much lighter. It makes you feel like you’re floating. It lifts you up. Carries you. The beautiful parts of love hold you above the rest of the world. They hold you so high above all the bad stuff, and you just look down on everything else and think, Wow. I’m glad I’m up here.”

“Ugly Love” is, without a doubt, one of the best books I have ever read. It is also very sexy and steamy, something completely new from Miss Hoover, but she manages it quite well *wink* Tate and Miles are such opposites, but they complement each other in the best way possible at the same time. As ever, Miss Hoover’s writing is poignant and flawless, and she provides us with some great secondary characters that only enhance your reading experience without ever taking the focus away from the main story.

Yes, love can be ugly, horrible, painful…but it can also be beautiful, uplifting, and hopeful. The twists and turns of the book will make you gasp, you will swoon over Miles (even when you do not really want to), and Tate’s sassy demeanor will make you laugh. There will be times when you are scared of reading the next chapter, but will it be worth it? Absolutely! In short: if I could give the book more than five stars, I would: it deserves at least ten! So thank you, Miss Hoover, for a wonderful reading experience. “Ugly Love” now sits among your other work on My Favorite Books shelf, and I am already looking forward to reading it again.

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

 

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon US

Amazon UK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Colleen Hoover lives in the United States with her husband and three children. She loves to write in her spare time and prefers stories that are both humorous and heart-wrenching. Her goal through writing is to give readers a pleasant experience that will leave them viewing life from a slightly different angle. To read more about this author, visit her website at http://www.colleenhoover.com

SOCIAL LINKS

Facebook

Twitter

Website

Goodreads Author Profile

Here’s the giveaway!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Please spread the word!

CelebrateReading

 

2 thoughts on “***One Year Blogoversary Post: Thoughts & Giveaway***

Leave a Reply

