“Greetings From Sugartown” (Sugartown #3) by Carmen Jenner – My Review

GreetingsFromSugartownCover

Title: “Greetings From Sugartown” (Sugartown #2.5)

Author: Carmen Jenner

Genre: New Adult Contemporary/Erotic Romance

Release Date: 9th September, 2014

SYNOPSIS

Life in Sugartown hasn’t always been easy, not for an ex-con like Elijah, and certainly not for Ana, who grew up desperate for a way out.

Meeting Elijah changed all that; Elijah changed a lot of things.

You’d think that after three years together and the worst behind them that life would be a walk in the park, but Sugartown’s sexiest couple may be about to face their biggest obstacles yet.

Between failed marriage proposals, a trampy ex-lover and a tempting new biker, Sugartown is suddenly not so sweet.
They’re head-over-heels in love. It should be simple—but it rarely is.

Will they make it down the aisle to the happy ever after they deserve? Or are some relationships just destined to fail?

ADD TO GOODREADS

My Review

Complimentary copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

If there is one Australian author who understands how to make me laugh, cry, shout, and swoon, it is Miss Jenner. I have loved her Sugartown series from the very beginning, and I am more than thrilled to say that being back with Elijah Cade & Ana Belle in this latest installment has been absolutely fantastic!

This couple has had it difficult from the beginning, to say the least, and even though they love each other more than anything, their pasts are still lurking in the background, waiting to rear their ugly heads again. And the question is if they can find a way to move forward, once and for all, instead of always waiting for a bomb to explode.

Elijah, who holds a very special place in my heart, is, however, ready to take their relationship to the next level – and no, I will not reveal what that is, sorry – but he feels rather insecure about how Ana will react. He continues to doubt her wanting to stay with him, and he is filled with a lot of insecurities about himself as well.

Ana, on the other hand, has definitely become stronger in many ways since her attack a few years back, but Elijah’s cagey and rather suspicious behavior makes her doubt if she will ever really be enough for him! And so the roller coaster starts again…

Now, I cannot write this review without mentioning how much I really like how Miss Jenner shows us a more mature side to her writing skills this time. Please do not misunderstand me: there are still plenty of great laughs in this book, and some really embarrassing, yet endearing, moments, too, and I would definitely not be without them, but it honestly seems to me that there is a more serious tone of voice to this book than we have seen before from Miss Jenner.

Both Elijah and Ana have grown up a lot since we last saw them, and I really enjoyed seeing how they have evolved in many ways. Furthermore, due to the hardships they have to endure this time, they finally realize the ways to be strong for one another – whenever it is necessary, of course. Meaning: they are still pretty nutty, and so adorable that you will never get enough of them, but they come to understand the truly important matters in life. That is how I feel, at least.

I think I have mentioned this before, but one of the best ways to explain if I have truly loved a book is if I keep thinking about it days after I have finished reading it. I miss Elijah and Ana so much right now, but I still feel that their turbulent love story has come to a perfect end. But why am I not giving the book five stars? Well, to tell the truth, I wanted to see a bit more suspense, or angst, as Ana and Elijah are confronted with the fact that her attacker is back in town. In short: I would have liked seeing a few more scenes when Ana is forced to confront her issues some more. It is so difficult writing this review without giving you any spoilers, and I am sorry if you feel confused about my reasoning. Read the book, and then make up your mind – reading is, after all, subjective!

“Greetings From Sugartown” has become a favourite book of 2014 for me, and like I stated above: there are lots of laughs, drama, and angst as is the case with the previous books in the series. Oh, and some very steamy and hot sexual encounters – phew! They will definitely make you tingle in all the right places. Need I say more? No, I think not. *wink*

If you have been a fan of the Sugartown Series from the beginning, just like me, I am absolutely positive that you will love being back with the whole crazy gang again! I loved practically everything about this book – especially some of the funnier moments when Holly and Jackson make an appearance – and I loved seeing Elijah and Ana finding faith and trust in each other. They are, plain and simple, perfect for another – but they are not perfect themselves. However, that is what makes them seem so real: it is so easy to relate to them because life is messy out in the real world, but there is always hope that things will fall into place. And that is a comforting thought…

Miss Jenner, you have done it again! I loved being back in Sugartown, and even though I am sad to leave – for now, at least – I am uplifted by the thought that I can always come back: because I know that I will read your books many times in the years to come. ❤

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG 1/2

 

 

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon US

Barnes & Noble

iBooks

Kobo

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Carmen Jenner is a thirty-something, USA TODAY Best Selling Author, doctor, pilot and CIA agent.

She’s also a compulsive, flagrant prevaricator who gets to make things up for a living.

While Sugartown may not technically exist, Carmen grew up in a small Australian town just like it, and just like her characters, she always longed for something more. They didn’t have an Elijah Cade, though.

If they did, you can be sure she would have never left.

 

SOCIAL MEDIA

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

One thought on ““Greetings From Sugartown” (Sugartown #3) by Carmen Jenner – My Review

Leave a Reply

