Blog Tour: “Confess” by Colleen Hoover – My Review

 

 

Confess Blot Tour Banner

Confess Cover

Title: “Confess”

Author: Colleen Hoover

Genre: New Adult / Contemporary Romance

Release Date: 10th March, 2015.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK

Tour Host: The Hot Bed

SYNOPSIS

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a new novel about risking everything for love—and finding your heart somewhere between the truth and lies.

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

ADD TO GOODREADS

 

My Review

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review

One of the difficult aspects of being a book reviewer, in my opinion, is when you sit down to write one of a book from one of your favourite authors: because how will you be able to put all your thoughts and feelings down of a book you loved when you feel that your words will be inadequate? It is not merely enough to say that you loved it, of course.

“Confess” by Colleen Hoover is, without a doubt, a wonderful story about loss, love, heartbreak, hope, and, to me at least, a story about finding your inner strength and let it shine. It is a story about how two individuals – Auburn and Owen – cross paths in a seemingly coincidental way, and how that one meeting ends up being the catalyst of future events. In some way, I am tempted to believe that there actually is such a thing as fate even when I am not usually the type of person to believe in it, but this book has made me rethink my beliefs a bit. And that is the power of a great storyteller: when the author makes you question and reconsider previously unwavering thoughts on a concept. It seems to me that Colleen Hoover always manages to make me do this, actually.

The title itself will instantly make you intrigued as to the plot of this book, and I believe that the many twists and turns will also make your heart constrict because you will be surprised on more than one occasion. The main characters, Auburn and Owen, have secrets. Some are of the light-hearted kind whereas others are more complicated. It would be a great disservice to you if I were to reveal any of them, obviously, so I will not do that. But I can reveal a few confessions of my own as to the feelings I went through while reading this book:

Confession #1: The prologue had me in tears.

Confession #2: Auburn and Owen made me chuckle, laugh, cry, and swoon.

Confession #3: The many facets to the characters had my head reeling.

Confession #4: This is not a “simple” love story; it is complicated; it is difficult; it is uplifting. In short: it is realistic.

I am of the firm belief that you will fall head over heels in love with both Auburn and Owen; they are easy to love. Auburn has quite a battle on her hands, but nothing will stop her from conquering it, and you have to admire that kind of tenacity. Furthermore, her sweet yet stubborn character traits made me really enjoy getting to know her: this woman does not give up.

Owen also has a battle to fight – and you quickly learn why that is – and it was at times very difficult to read how he chooses to handle it. It was, however, never something that made me less sympathetic towards his character. His passion for his art is evident, the driving force behind it quite unique. He is sweet, caring, and funny…Not without faults, of course, but that is what makes him a believable character in my eyes.

There are quite a colourful and interesting cast of secondary characters appearing in “Confess”, and I have to say that I would like to get to know some of them even better. Not that they pull your focus away from the main story, of course. But I do wonder about them, and I love when that happens in a book.

No one, in my opinion, can doubt the very unique penmanship of Miss Hoover’s. Her at times no-nonsense kind of writing – including the dry humour many of us have come to associate with this author – as well as the love story which will make you cry are all evident in this book. If you are already a fan of hers, I believe that these are a part of the reason why you love her books as much as I do.

I realise that this is a somewhat different kind of review from the ones I usually write, and maybe I have even confused you a bit. I am sorry if the latter is the case. But like I told you in the beginning of my review, I have been very uncertain about how to write it. And this is, I am afraid, the best I can come up with.

Miss Hoover, I loved every moment of “Confess” – I know I will read it many times in the future, and I hope you will never run out of heartbreaking – yet hopeful – love stories to tell us. ❤

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

 

UK PREORDER LINKS

Ebook

Kindle

iBooks

Kobo

Nook

Pbook

Amazon

Waterstones

Foyles

WHSmith

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

(from Amazon.co.uk)

Colleen Hoover lives in the United States with her husband and three children. She loves to write in her spare time and prefers stories that are both humorous and heart-wrenching. Her goal through writing is to give readers a pleasant experience that will leave them viewing life from a slightly different angle. To read more about this author, visit her website at http://www.colleenhoover.com

SOCIAL LINKS

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

The Hot Bed

Leave a Reply

