Review Tour: “Swoon” by CM Foss – My Review, Teasers & Excerpt

Title: Swoon
Author: CM Foss
Release Date: April 2, 2015
Find on Goodreads

Steph

I’ve never been your typical girl. I didn’t grow up in a warm fuzzy family, and emotions weren’t something I needed now. Love has never been something I could wrap my mind around, so why bother? I know what I’m good at. I’m a great friend, have a passion for healing others, and a way with horses. I can be all those things at the same time without ever discussing my own feelings.

Until him.

Lawrence

I’ve always been told I have a way with words. It’s one reason I manage the family business so well. I can wine and dine with the best of them, selling bloodlines and high-priced stallion services over a five-course dinner. I’m able to talk myself into or out of just about anything and anyone.

Until her.

****

Young and carefree, living worlds apart, they indulged in what seemed like the perfect fling.

Until Lawrence decided he wanted more.

Until Steph’s careful world fell apart.

Until they had to decide if love was worth the fight.

My Review

Complimentary copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

I finished reading “Swoon” by CM Foss a couple of days ago, and I cannot stop thinking about it! This book…well, I hardly know where to begin. It is romance at its finest…it is funny, heart-warming, a bit sad, and just have this feel-good vibe I love to be left with after I have reached The End.

The love story of Steph and Lawrence is one filled with a few bumps, and one that leaves a few bruises as well, but that is exactly why I love it: it feels so incredibly believable to me. Because life is not an easy road – for any of us, in my opinion – so why do we sometimes expect that of the characters in the books that we read? I, for one, do not.

Steph comes from a rather loveless family which forced her to become very independent at a young age. Lawrence’s background is entirely opposite, so when these two meet and find that they have an incredible chemistry, it is only to be expected that their journey is not an easy one.

What really endeared me to Steph is the fact that she finds herself in a situation she cannot seem to get out of, and instead of facing it head-on, she is in denial. For a long time, actually. And that, my dear readers, is so realistic when we are dealing with people in their early twenties. Because it is not always easy to just shrug everything off and move on. Sometimes, you need a person to come along and push you in the right direction – but once Steph gets that push, she is a force to be reckoned with. I loved how she only becomes stronger and more determined the older she gets, but she is also a truly quirky, funny, and loveable character. All in all, I can now say that I have such a girl crush on her, and that I also wish she was real – because I want her to be my new best friend. 😉

Lawrence…oh be still, my beating heart! What a truly fantastic person he is! Yes, he made me swoon – over and over again, in fact – and just like Steph, he seems so real to me now. Can he be annoying? Yes. Does he have the ability to push the wrong buttons? Oh, indeed. But here is the thing: he is a guy – which, you know, kind of says it all – and just like all men, he has to learn patience and perseverance when it concerns dealing with women. Or, well, just one woman: Steph. 😉 Lawrence is not one to back down from a challenge, however, and once his mind is made up about certain matters, he goes after what he desires. And you have to admire and appreciate that kind of stubbornness in a man.

The passion with which Miss Foss writes is clear on every page. You can just feel how much she cares for her characters; the equestrian world is, once again, evident in “Swoon” as is the case with her previous novel, “Shiver” (also a favourite book of mine). I do not believe that you have to be a horse lover to enjoy her writing, though, because, overall, this is a love story, and that is what you are looking for, is it not?

Technically, this is a standalone novel, but I strongly recommend that you read “Shiver” first because it will give you a better understanding of the background stories of all the characters. Lissa and Ethan – the main characters from Miss Foss’ previous book – play a prominent role in “Swoon”, but we are also introduced to some new – and rather interesting – secondary characters.

Before I let my words run away with me, I will end my review here by simply asking you a few questions:

Do you love romance novels?

Do you like a bit of drama?

Do you want to laugh when you read?

Do you like steamy sex scenes? 😉

If your answer to these questions is a big, fat YES, then buy this book – do not wait, do it today. I am certain that you will not regret it.

Miss Foss: thank you for making me swoon! This is, without a doubt, one of my all-time favourite novels, and I hope that we will get to meet Lawrence and Steph – as well as Lissa and Ethan – again in the future. ❤

Star_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPGStar_rating.JPG

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords

Ten minutes later, I had to walk back through the kitchen to get some laundry from the dryer in the mudroom. I had a towel wrapped around my waist and that was it. Steph’s eyes followed me, her eyebrows raised as she sipped on a glass of wine and lazily stirred whatever was in the pan. I winked as I passed by.
I returned a minute later dressed in sweatpants and a T-shirt. 
She was still in the same position. “That was indecent.”
“What? The towel?”
She pursed her lips and nodded.
“Sweetheart, you’ve seen me in less. And what we’ve done together could never be considered decent. You’re lucky I was covered at all.”
She laughed loudly, taking another long sip from her glass and turning back to the stove. 
I reached into the fridge for a beer and popped it open. “Sure you don’t need me to help?”
She responded without turning around. “Nope. Why don’t you find something on TV to watch and I’ll bring dinner in just a sec.”
I nodded as I walked to the living room, really just to myself since she wouldn’t look at me. Sighing heavily, I sank down on the couch and closed my eyes for a moment. I’d lied earlier. I was tired. Not only was I pulling long hours in the saddle, but I’d been spending most of my free time on the phone with clients from home. A couple of them were causing problems, and my dad needed me to talk them off the ledge. It’s what I excelled at.
I was startled awake by the sound of a plate being set on the table in front of me and the feel of the couch dipping as Steph sat down, smirking.
“Gosh, you need to get in better shape.”
“Shut up,” I muttered as I sat up, rubbing my hands over my face. At least now she seemed infinitely more comfortable in her own skin since she had something to tease me about. “I was just resting my eyes.”
“You were snoring.”
“I was not.” I started to laugh.
“Totally snoring.”
“I don’t snore,” I insisted. 
“How would you know? You’re sleeping.”
“Someone would have told me.”
“No girlfriend would ever mention it,” she pointed out.
I shook my head. “I wasn’t talking about a girlfriend.”
“No one-night stand would ever mention it.”
“You just did!”
There was a moment of silence after I blurted that out. Steph’s eyes were wide, but when they met mine, we both erupted into laughter, doubling over, shoulders shaking. My stomach actually hurt by the time we were finished. Steph wiped under her eyes and I took a deep breath, relaxing back into the couch with a sigh.
“Let’s face it,” she said. “I’m more than just a one-night stand.”

I live in beautiful Northern Virginia with my incredible husband, two awesome kids, three dogs, and two budgies. My husband and I both grew up riding and competing horses and have our own equestrian operation that we run together. In my spare time, I read through the hundreds of stories awaiting me on my e-reader.
My love of books started early, and my mom used to ration my reading time so I didn’t go through them too quickly. I love all things romantic, whether it’s dark or light or silly or dirty, but I really love a happy ending!
In my small moments of quiet time, you’ll find me sipping on wine and reading while any movie where people randomly burst into song or dance plays in the background.

Leave a Reply

